The France captain was red-carded after head-butting Marco Materazzi´s chest and the off-the-ball incident was missed by referee Horacio Elizondo and his linesmen, but was spotted by the fourth official Luis Medina Cantalejo.
FIFA spokesman Andreas Herren told PA Sport: "The fourth referee saw the incident with his own eyes and told the referee and the assistant referee directly though their headsets."
© Copyright Press Association Ltd 2006, All Rights Reserved.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms