Kaka tips Neymar to win the Ballon d’Or

Published 6 Comments

Football News

Kaka is convinced it’s only a matter of time before Neymar cements his status as the world’s best footballer by winning the FIFA Ballon d’Or.

The individual accolade, the most prestigious in club football, has been dominated by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo since 2008. Kaka was the last player aside from Messi or Ronaldo to win the award, back in 2007.

But Kaka is pleased to see Neymar on the podium for the 2015 Ballon d’Or - the first Brazilian to make the top three since 2007 - and is confident the Barcelona star will land his hands on the big prize in the not-too-distant future.


Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250-word test article:

"It had always been a rotation: Ronaldo and Zidane won it three times, but there was always some other player - names like [Luis] Figo, Ronaldinho, myself, Rivaldo, [Fabio] Cannavaro," Kaka told

"Then comes this succession of Cristiano and Messi, only the two of them - and it is fair, for what they have been doing year after year.

"It's difficult to point out a single reason for this [lack of Brazilians in the final three in recent years], but it must serve to alert Brazilian football. And, truth be told, it's no easy task to forge a Ballon d'Or winner.

"Thankfully, Neymar has improved a lot since he's gone to play in Europe - his game is a lot more mature. Now it's a matter of time until he reaches first place."

Neymar may have surpassed Ronaldo

Neymar, 23, was world football’s most exciting talent during his time at Santos but has become one of the planet’s top players since arriving at the Camp Nou in the summer of 2013.

It could even be argued that Neymar, who scored 39 goals in 51 appearances for Barcelona last season, has surpassed Ronaldo to become the world’s second best player behind Messi.

The Brazilian is unlikely to win the Ballon d’Or later this month - Messi is the overwhelming favourite to win the award for a record-breaking fifth time - but it would come as no shock if Neymar wins the gong in either 2017 or 2018.

Will Neymar become the first player other than Ronaldo or Messi to win the Ballon d’Or since Kaka? Let us know by leaving a comment below.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Lionel Messi
UEFA Champions League
Cristiano Ronaldo
Ballon d'Or

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again