Ballon d'Or 2015: 5 most baffling votes

Published 3 Comments

Football News

To the surprise of nobody, Lionel Messi won his fifth Ballon d’Or award at last night’s ceremony in Zurich.

The Barcelona star received 41.33% of the 498 votes cast by national team coaches, national team captains and media representatives to beat Cristiano Ronaldo (27.33%) and Neymar (7.86%) to the award.

As usual, there were some wacky votes cast this year. Some people just shouldn’t be allowed to vote again. You can check out the full lost of votes here.


Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250-word test article:

Wayne Rooney voted for Thomas Muller ahead of former team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo

The two enjoyed five trophy-filled seasons together at Manchester United, but that didn’t prevent Wayne Rooney from pitting Bayern Munich forward Thomas Muller his no.2 choice ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo.

Although it’s nice to see an objective vote. Once again, tactical voting was common in this year’s Ballon d’Or.

Portugal media representative voted for Lionel Messi ahead of compatriot Cristiano Ronaldo

Rooney voting Ronaldo third wasn’t the only case of the Real Madrid star receiving no love.

Joaquim Rita might have upset a few in Portugal after voting Lionel Messi ahead of Ronaldo.

A brave choice, but the right one nonetheless.

Like Hodgson last year, Guatemala coach voted Javier Mascherano his no. 1 choice

What is it with coaches voting for Javier Mascherano?

Last year it was Roy Hodgson. This year, Ivan Franco Sopegno chose the Barcelona defender as his number one choice.

The endless admiration for Mascherano does pose the potential for an interesting betting market - who will vote for Mascherano next year?

Pakistan coach thinks injury-hit Arjen Robben was the world’s best player last year

Basheer Al Shamlan Mohammad Shamlan Mubarak probably didn’t watch much football last year.

The Pakistan coach decided Arjen Robben was the best player of last year.

There’s no doubting Robben is a world class talent but the Munich winger endured a horrendous 2015, missing several games through injury.

Last year Robben missed games due to a torn abdominal muscle, a calf injury, a groin injury and illness.

Maybe Mohammad Shamian was simply trying to lift Robben’s spirits.

New Zealand captain and Leeds United striker excluded Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar from his vote

Chris Wood went full hipster with his vote, determining that Robert Lewandowski, Paul Pogba and Kevin de Bruyne enjoyed better year’s than the three finalists.


Who would be your Ballon d'Or top three, and in what order?

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Arjen Robben
La Liga
Premier League
Lionel Messi
Bayern Munich
Cristiano Ronaldo
Ballon d'Or
Wayne Rooney

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again