Arsenal's Mesut Ozil the undisputed favourite to win the PFA Player of the Year award

Published 1 Comments

Football News

Mesut Ozil should win the PFA Player of the Year award regardless of whether Arsenal win the Premier League title this season or not.

The Germany international has been the talk of world football after finally coming good just over two years on from his £42.5 million move from La Liga giants Real Madrid.

Though Leicester City duo Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy have been sensational, and whilst Tottenham and Everton forwards Harry Kane and Romelu Lukaku respectively have also impressed, Ozil is easily the best player in English football right now.


Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250 word test article:

Ever since he touched down in London during 2013's Transfer Deadline Day, Arsenal fans have been patiently waiting for Ozil to replicate the form that made him one of the best playmakers in world football during his time in Spain.

And despite being eclipsed by Alexis Sanchez last term, the Gunners' attacking midfielder has finally rediscovered his creative touch and is driving the club towards a first league crown since 2004.

He already spearheads the assists charts with 16 - double that of second-placed Kevin De Bruyne - and is just four adrift of Thierry Henry’s record of 20, set during the club’s ‘Invincibles’ season.

Such marvellous displays have drawn comparisons with club legend Dennis Bergkamp and his place in Arsenal folklore will be assured if he maintains his form over the coming months.

Ozil is a shoe-in for the PFA Player of the Year award already, with his performances enchanting and on par with last year’s winner Eden Hazard of Chelsea.

Vardy was the frontrunner during the early months of the campaign due to his stunning goalscoring run that saw him surpass Ruud van Nistelrooy’s record by scoring in 11 consecutive games.

Mahrez scored the winner as Leicester stunned Chelsea at the King Power Stadium last month, but while the Algerian has impressed he may struggle to maintain his form until May.

Kane and Lukaku have an outside shot at the prize if they continue to prepare for the European Championships in fine fettle, but much may depend on how their clubs fare in their bid to finish in the European positions.

If Ozil does win the award he will join an elite list consisting of the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale, Luis Suarez and Henry himself.

Robin van Persie was the last Arsenal player to win the prize in 2012, but the club lost him to Manchester United the following year. Arsene Wenger will be aiming to avoid a repeat if Ozil wins the honour in 2016.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Thierry Henry
Premier League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again