FIFA reveal list of who Ballon d'Or candidates voted for

Published Add your comment

There was no huge shock at the Ballon d’Or last night as Lionel Messi claimed his fifth title as the world’s greatest player. As many expected, the Argentine pipped both Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar to the award, but who voted for who? FIFA have now released their table for the captain’s of every international team, along with who they voted for. Messi has a overwhelming amount of votes, but there’s also some surprises in there as well. Cameroon’s captain voted Yaya Toure, for example, whilst the skipper of Guatemala said Javier Mascherano. Interestingly, Cristiano Ronaldo voted from teammate Karim Benzema, James Rodriguez and Gareth Bale as his first, second and third, whilst Messi picked Suarez, Neymar and Iniesta. England’s Wayne Rooney voted Messi first, Thomas Muller second and Ronaldo third.

Lionel Messi
Cristiano Ronaldo

Article Comments

Read more


Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again