Denis Cheryshev's cup inclusion for Valencia makes a mockery of the rules

Published 1 Comments

Football News

Gary Neville's Valencia can be very pleased with their deadline day signing from Real Madrid.

Despite not really featuring heavily for Los Blancos, Denis Cheryshev is a tough, technical and extremely quick winger.

He'll give Neville options in attack that were unavailable to him previously.


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250 word test article:

A loan from Real to Sevilla didn't really work out, but if anyone was in doubt as to what the young Russian brings to the party, they only need to look at some of his workmanlike performances for Villarreal.

Indeed, it was whilst he was with the Yellow Submarine that Cheryshev got a one match ban in the Copa Del Rey.

Too late

An accumulation of three yellow cards, the last in last season's semi final second leg for a late challenge on Barcelona's Gerard Pique, meant he would have to sit out the first cup match of this campaign.

Except nobody, not Cheryshev himself nor one single employee at Villarreal or Real Madrid, picked up on it when the winger was selected by Real to face Cadiz in their 2015/16 cup opener.

By half-time, and thanks to the baying Cadiz crowd, it was evident that something was amiss and as soon as Los Blancos had realised their error, Cheryshev was substituted.

By then it was too late. Real were disqualified from the cup for fielding an ineligible player, a decision that stood even after appeal.

Not right

To that end it's perhaps no surprise that Real have decided to again dispense with Cheryshev's services at the earliest possible opportunity.

And given Valencia's current predicament, there is every likelihood that Gary Neville will throw the loan signing straight a cup semi-final against Barcelona.

Wait a minute, something's not right here.

To the layman, a decision to allow the player to play in a competition that he has already been responsible for having another thrown out of seems scandalous.

If the result against Cadiz is seen as null and void, then Cheryshev still has a one match ban to serve.


If it's perceived that the player has served his ban during that game, then he is cup tied in any event.

Yet, it appears highly likely that the powers that be will sanction his appearance should he be selected by Neville.

It makes a complete mockery of the rules if this is allowed to happen and will surely lead to more heavyweight clubs in La Liga looking to massage the rules to their own ends, using this particular case as a precedent.

There have been some incredible decisions made by La Liga executives in the past, but this one takes the biscuit.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Real Madrid
La Liga

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again