Hugo Mallo told Lionel Messi his penalty against Celta Vigo was uncalled for

Published 20 Comments

Football News

Was Lionel Messi’s penalty disrespectful?

This is the question that’s currently being debated by football fans across the world after the Barcelona star passed his spot-kick to Luis Suarez, who converted past Celta Vigo goalkeeper Sergio Álvarez, during Sunday evening’s 6-1 victory at Camp Nou.

Fans are divided over whether the penalty was unsportsmanlike or not - but one man who wasn’t impressed, perhaps unsurprisingly, was Celta’s captain Hugo Mallo.


Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250-word test article:

The Spanish defender was seen approaching Messi while Barcelona were celebrating Suarez’s goal - he obviously wasn’t happy - and Spanish newspaper Marca have revealed what he told the five-time Ballon d’Or winner.

In fairness to Mallo, he was civil to Messi and simply told Barcelona’s No. 10: "Leo, that was uncalled for".

The report also claims witnesses said Mallo told Messi he wouldn’t have dared to take the penalty in that way had the scores been level. Barcelona were 3-1 up at the time with less than 10 minutes on the clock.

To prevent Messi getting even more of an earful from the 24-year-old, Gerard Pique and Jordi Alba intervened and had a few words with the frustrated Mallo.

But, as Marca suggest, Messi was probably a little fortunate that Iago Aspas and Fabián Orellana - two of Celta’s more fiery characters - were suspended for the match.

Messi did not break any rules

Ultimately, Messi did not break any rules and it was a moment that football fans will remember for a long time - just like the original Johan Cruyff penalty in 1982.

Given that Messi’s success rate from the spot is pretty sketchy, perhaps the Argentina international felt this was the best way to help his team score their fourth goal of the afternoon.

Seriously, though, fans go to football matches to be entertained and this was patently entertaining.

Messi and Suarez gave those inside the Camp Nou a memory they’ll never forget and, who knows, perhaps more players will begin to take penalties like this in the future.

Until FIFA change the rule and make it clear that the penalty taker must take a direct shot at goal, footballers are well within their rights to try something different if they see fit to do so.

Messi's penalty surprised Carlo Ancelotti

Commenting on the penalty, former Real Madrid head coach Carlo Ancelotti told Goal: “I was really surprised. It is a rule, and if you respect the rules, you can do what you want.

“If you do this in Spain, it’s OK, but if you do it in Italy, maybe you’ll have more problems. But if you respect the rules, everything is possible.”

Was Lionel Messi being disrespectful with his penalty? Have your say by leaving a comment below.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

UEFA Champions League
Luis Suarez
La Liga
Lionel Messi

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again