Did Diego Costa bite Gareth Barry?
This is the question on everyone’s lips this morning following Saturday’s FA Cup quarter-final clash between Everton and Chelsea at Goodison Park.
Costa appeared to dig his teeth into the Everton midfielder, moments before being shown a red card by referee Michael Oliver. Chelsea released a statement late last night in which Costa categorically denied biting the former England international.
SUBMIT AN ARTICLE
Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250-word test article: https://gms.to/haveyoursay5
“Diego spoke to club officials after the game and expressed regret over his reaction to the challenge from Gareth Barry that led to his red card,” the statement read, “but Diego was also very clear that he did not bite him at any point during that altercation.”
That Barry didn’t react as if he’d been bitten, suggested Costa is probably telling the truth. However, the footage still leaves more questions than answers.
Video: Costa's 'bite' on Barry
Costa's first red card for Chelsea
Chelsea lost the match 2-0; former Blues striker Romelu Lukaku scored two goals in five minutes towards the end of the game to send Everton through to the semi-finals at Wembley.
Costa was sent off not long after Lukaku’s second goal, in the 84th minute, and remarkably that was his first red card for Chelsea since arriving at Stamford Bridge in the summer of 2014.
The Brazil-born Spain international is famous for his short fuse and has been involved in countless altercations throughout his professional career.
That hot head of his was always going to let Chelsea down sooner or later.
Did Diego Costa bite Gareth Barry? Have your say by leaving a comment below.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms