Olympic gold medallists to receive one-year exemption for majors

Published Add your comment

Football News

Gold medallists in this summer's Olympics will receive a one-year exemption into the game's major championships, officials from the sport's top organisations have announced.

The men's champion in Rio will be exempt into the Masters, US Open, Open Championship and US PGA Championship in 2017, while the women's exemption begins with the 2016 Evian Championship - which takes place after the Games - and includes the ANA Inspiration, Women's PGA Championship, US Women's Open and Women's British Open in 2017.

Masters chairman Billy Payne told a press conference at Augusta National: " We believe our game's visibility will be dramatically elevated by the global platform that only the Olympics offer.

"New audiences from all over the world, some for the very first time ever, will be exposed to our great sport and come to know and appreciate the amazing athletes and heroes in golf. From this greater visibility, we believe will evolve greater participation in our game, and it will be a certain beneficiary."

While the likes of Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth and Jason Day would be exempt for the majors regardless of winning in Rio, officials believe the nature of Olympic qualifying could produce a winner from the 60-strong fields who would really benefit from the exemption.

Pete Bevacqua, the chief executive officer of the PGA of America, said: "From our perspective, whether it's someone that is in the top rankings of the world or someone who is that Cinderella story, in both ways it's a positive.

"It's a positive for golf, it's a great story for golf and it's certainly a positive for the PGA Championship, regardless of who comes out of that field."

USGA executive director Mike Davis added: " We use the world rankings as a big part of who gets into the US Open Championship and the US Women's Open Championship a nd certainly you think that at the Olympics, you're going to have hopefully most of the top-ranked players there.

"But clearly, given the way that qualification system is to the Olympics, where countries are limited on how many players they can have, you could have some lower-ranked players, relatively speaking.

"So the idea is that if you're good enough to win that gold medal, and it only happens once every four years, we want you in our national championships."

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Tiger Woods
Rory McIlroy

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again