Who should win the PFA Player of the Year award?

Published 4 Comments

Football News

It's almost that time of the year when the PFA Player of the Year is announced.

Last year the individual award was taken home by Chelsea's Eden Hazard, but after a surprisingly quiet season from the Belgian, a new star will be taking home the trophy this season.

With voting closing later this week, there is not long left until we find out who is the 2015/2016 Player of the Year, and here are five possible candidates to take home the award.


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article:

Harry Kane - Tottenham Hotspur

The 22-year-old burst onto the scene last year with 21 goals, after only securing a permanent spot leading the Spurs attack mid-way through November. Roberto Soldado was failing to impress and the academy graduate was scoring for fun in the Europa League, and he hasn't stopped scoring since. 

Many considered the Englishman's 31 goal season a fluke and dubbed him, rather harshly, a one-season-wonder. Well those voices have died out after another 25 goals so far this season.

Kane currently leads the way in the race for the golden boot after a second 20 goal season in the English top flight, an accolade shared with Sergio Aguero, Wayne Rooney and Didier Drogba. 

Dele Alli - Tottenham Hotspur

Kane's partner in crime. The Robin to his Batman. And like Kane, the youngster's debut season started on the bench but once he got his chance, he grabbed it with both hands and hasn't let go.

Alli's eight goals and nine assists in the Premier League and five caps for the English national team this year is a remarkable turnaround for a player who was playing third-tier football last season. with MK Dons.

He has only just turned 20, and is almost guaranteed to win the PFA Young Player of the Year and in a 'normal' season would stand a reasonable chance of claiming the senior award too, if not for the magic of the next two candidates.

Jamie Vardy - Leicester City

A record-breaking run of scoring in 11 consecutive games in the Premier League makes up over half of the striker's 21 goal tally in the league. Everyone know's the forward's story, which could become a feature film in the future, his rise from the non-league and his omnipresence in the opponent's half. 

His goals may have dropped off since the New Year, as teams have afforded the Foxes less space on the counter, but his tenacity and non-stop running continues to create chances and win games for Leicester as they march on towards their first Premier League crown.

Riyad Mahrez - Leicester City

Last year's winner of the award, Eden Hazard, scored 14 goals and assisted 10 goals en-route to Chelsea's triumph in the league. Riyad Mahrez has 16 goals and 10 assists, as Leicester sit seven points clear with six games remaining, en-route to the Premier League title.

His close control and clinical finishing have terrorised defences and scored the goals needed to elevate Leicester to the summit. 

Another player who has risen from mediocrity of the second division in both France and England and burst onto the biggest stage with the no-fear mentality Ranieri has instilled in his Foxes.

Mesut Ozil - Arsenal

So far all the candidates have broken onto the scene either this season or the last, but Mesut Ozil has remained at the top of world football for the better part of the last decade.

The 27-year-old German is currently chasing Thierry Henry's record of 20 assists in a Premier League season set back in the 2002-03 season.

Cesc Fabregas hunted the record last season but ultimately fell two short as Chelsea's attacking prowess dropped off after the New Year. Ozil has struggled to similarly keep his tally going but his overall creativity has not dipped.

We are still yet to see what devastation he could cause with a world-class striker ahead of him at Arsenal. Perhaps he could break the record then.


Leicester City's talisman and (unconventional) poster-boy Jamie Vardy had inspired his side to the summit of the league and will likely lift the trophy in May - the greatest feat achieved by an English club this generation. 

While his goals have dried up recently, he still leads from the front, chasing down every ball and installing belief in those around him. His record-breaking run of scoring in 11 consecutive games inspired his team to chase the title.

Honourable mentions: Dimitri Payet (West Ham United), N'Golo Kante (Leicester City) and Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur).

Who should win PFA Player of the Year? Have YOUR say in the comment section below!

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Leicester City
West Ham United
Tottenham Hotspur
Premier League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again