Philippe Coutinho nominated for PFA Young Player of the Year - people are furious

Published Add your comment

Football News

There is always going to be some people unhappy with the nominees for the PFA awards - and this year it’s no different.

With Jamie Vardy, Dimitri Payet, Riyad Mahrez, Harry Kane, N’Golo Kante and Mesut Ozil all in-line for the PFA Player of the Year prize, there can be very little complaints.

However, one inclusion in the PFA Young Player of the Year nominees has got people on Twitter really riled, especially Manchester United fans.


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article:

That’s because they’re fuming at the decision to select Philippe Coutinho in the six nominees, whilst ignoring Anthony Martial.

But it’s not just United fans that have been left scratching their heads. Just look at the Twitter reaction below:

The Brazilian has managed seven goals in the Premier League for the Reds this season as they currently sit in eighth place - with very little hope of qualifying for next season’s Champions League via their league position.

Coutinho is 23-years-old and, therefore, qualifies for the Young Player of the Year award with the maximum age being 23 when the season begins.

Other nominees

Compared to the other nominees, it seems as though Coutinho has very little chance of winning the award.

Kane has scored 22 goals in the league and has helped his side maintain an unlikely title challenge while his teammate, Dele Alli, has been magnificent in a midfield role at White Hart Lane.

Everton duo Ross Barkley and Romelu Lukaku are also nominees. Lukaku has notched 18 goals for the Toffees while Barkley is beginning to fulfil his incredible potential.

Stoke City’s Jack Butland is the final player, with the goalkeeper having a magnificent campaign at the Britannia Stadium.

PFA members from 100 clubs across the Premier League, Football League and Women’s Super League have voted for the players who they think have been the best player this season with the winner being the one with the most amount of votes.

Liverpool’s Coutinho was one of the nominees for the main award last season but missed out to Eden Hazard. However, he was named in the PFA Team of the Year.

If he does win the award this year, he will become the first Liverpool player since the 2000/01 campaign when Steven Gerrard picked up the trophy.

However, the bookmakers identify Alli as the heavy favourite with him being 1/8 on in some places to be crowned PFA Young Player of the Year, while Coutinho is as high as 50/1.

Who do you think should win the PFA awards? Let us know in the comments box below!

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Steven Gerrard
Manchester United
Premier League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again