A famous night at the Vicente Calderon has just concluded. Atletico Madrid knocked out the reigning champions Barcelona after a 2-0 victory to reach the semi-final of the Champions League. It will go down in folklore for years to come.
But had the referee got one decision right, we could be sitting through another 30 minutes of tantalising football in extra time. That is because he failed to award Barcelona a last-minute penalty.
Yes, seconds after he had given Atletico a penalty for Andres Iniesta's handball – which Antoine Griezmann converted for his second of the night – he awarded a free-kick to Barcelona on the edge of Atletico's penalty area after Gabi committed the same offence.
However, replays clearly show the ball struck Gabi's arm in the box. There is, of course, no guarantee the penalty would have been scored, especially with Barcelona's record from the spot this season.
But Barcelona should have been given the chance to level the tie on aggregate from 12-yards.
Here is a picture of the incident:
And here is a video:
And here is how Barcelona's players reacted:
But a free-kick it was and Lionel Messi could not find the net with his strike. It would turn out to be the last opportunity for Barcelona and the game rolled to the finish line.
Then it was time for this:
Luck was on Diego Simeone's side tonight and after some pretty sensational defending, no one can say they did not deserve it.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms