David de Gea's PFA Team of the Year inclusion secures status as Premier League's best 'keeper

Published 1 Comments

Football News

Manchester United's David de Gea was named in the 2015/16 PFA Team of the Year for the third time in four seasons on Thursday.

In a team dominated by Leicester City and Tottenham Hotspur players, which also failed to include Arsenal's Mesut Ozil, the 25-year-old goalkeeper was the 20-time league champions' only representative.

Spurs captain Hugo Lloris has been fabulous under Mauricio Pochettino, while Stoke City’s Jack Butland produced a number of magnificent displays before a fractured ankle brought the 23-year-old’s campaign - and his Euro 2016 hopes - to an abrupt end.


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250 word test article:

However, following his latest inclusion in the Team of the Year, there can be no doubt now that De Gea has firmly established himself as English football's number one goalkeeper.

United have been bitterly disappointing for the vast majority of this campaign yet De Gea has enjoyed another exceptional season, playing a large role in the Red Devils' Champions League hopes with four games remaining.

After reclaiming his place in Louis van Gaal’s starting line-up following last summer's dramatic transfer saga involving Real Madrid, the Spaniard has made 43 appearances in all competitions and proved yet again why is one of world football's most formidable shot-stoppers.

The Spain international has kept 14 clean sheets in the Premier League thus far - more than he's managed in any other campaign since arriving at Old Trafford - and been a big reason behind United boasting the second best defensive record in England's top-flight.

All the greatest goalkeepers down the years have been capable of producing top-class saves at vital moments, single-handedly keeping their team in matches and earning them points which they don't deserve. When you consider De Gea's exploits this term, he certainly falls into this category.


In what has been an unpredictable season for United, summer signing Anthony Martial, Marcus Rashford and Juan Mata have all impressed at times over the course of the year, while Luke Shaw's excellent progress was halted in horrific fashion last September.

However, no player has performed as consistently as De Gea, with Bayern Munich's Manuel Neuer seemingly the only other 'keeper on his level at present.

As a result, the Spaniard must be favourite to receive the club's Player of the Season award, which he's picked up for two seasons running.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Wayne Rooney
Premier League
Cristiano Ronaldo
David Beckham
Manchester United
UEFA Champions League
Europa League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again