Michael Owen picks his PFA Team of the Year

Published 1 Comments

Football News

Yesterday, the PFA Team of the Year was announced and the majority of football fans were in agreement.

Some suggested Mesut Ozil should have been selected, while others questioned how Sergio Aguero had let been left out yet again but, other than that, everyone was satisfied with the 11 players selected.

One man, in particular, was in almost complete agreement with the team - Michael Owen.


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250 word test article:

Following the announcement of the 11 players, Owen made his own Team of the Year and he only made one change.

Instead of Hector Bellerin at right-back, the former Liverpool, Real Madrid, Newcastle, Manchester United and Stoke striker opted for Kyle Walker.

Therefore, Owen agreed with the choice of David de Gea in goal, ahead of the likes of Jack Butland and Kasper Schmeichel.

Toby Alderweireld, Wes Morgan and Danny Rose join Walker in the back four.

The BT Sport pundit and commentator selected the same front-six as the PFA Team of the Year with Dimitri Payet, N’Golo Kante, Dele Alli and Riyad Mahrez in midfield while England duo Harry Kane and Jamie Vardy are picked up-front.

Owen’s team includes five Tottenham and four Leicester players meaning the only two outside of the top-two in the Premier League are United’s De Gea and West Ham’s Payet.

He also goes one step further by selecting his Manager of the Year. No prizes for guessing that, though. Yes, it's Claudio Ranieri.

Who will win the league?

With just four matches remaining in the league, it’s still unclear which side are going to be the unlikely winners of the Premier League.

The Foxes lead Spurs by five points but probably have the tougher run-in.

Leicester face Swansea this weekend, without suspended Jamie Vardy, before a trip to Manchester United. They host Everton on the penultimate day before travelling to last season’s champions Chelsea in the final match.

Spurs will be hoping to capitalise on any slip-up. Mauricio Pochettino’s side host West Brom this weekend before, they too, travel to Stamford Bridge to play Chelsea.

They then have a home match against Southampton before finishing with a trip to relegation-threatened Newcastle.

While it’s unknown who will be lifting the trophy come May, there’s little doubt that these two sides have been better than everyone else this season.

Arsenal’s title bid has fallen away in recent weeks, while Manchester City have been too inconsistent to challenge.

We’re not sure which team will be crowned champions, but there isn’t too much argument about the best XI.

What would your PFA Team of the Year be? Let us know in the comments box below!

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Thierry Henry
Leicester City
Steven Gerrard
West Ham United
Premier League
Manchester City
Manchester United
Tottenham Hotspur

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again