Toby Alderweireld didn't receive any votes for FWA Footballer of the Year award

Published 8 Comments

Football News

Tottenham fans will probably consider the 2015/16 season to be their finest Premier League campaign to date.

It appears that Mauricio Pochettino’s side will lose out on the trophy to Leicester but they are almost guaranteed a second-placed finish.

Four of Tottenham’s players were rewarded for their impressive performances this season with Danny Rose, Toby Alderweireld, Dele Alli and Harry Kane named in the PFA Team of the Year.


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article:

Kane was just pipped to the PFA Player of the Year award with Leicester’s Riyad Mahrez picking up the accolade.

However, Alli deservedly won the PFA Young Player of the Year after his 10 goals in the Premier League.

While Mahrez picked up the PFA Player of the Year award, it was his teammate Vardy who was given the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year award.

Vardy received 36% of the vote and few could argue that he didn’t deserve the accolade.

But Spurs fans are furious. Not with the winner, but that the fact that Alderweireld didn’t receive a single vote.

The Belgian has been key to Spurs’ title challenge but after it was revealed Danny Drinkwater, Kasper Schmeichel, Wes Morgan, Danny Simpson, Mahrez, N’Golo Kante, Kane, Dimitri Payet, Sergio Aguero, Kevin de Bruyne and Alli all received votes, Tottenham supporters were left scratching their heads wondering how their defender hadn’t been recognised.

Alderweireld and his teammates will be desperate to beat Chelsea tonight to keep their faint title hopes alive. They know they need to win their remaining three fixtures to stand any chance of pipping Leicester to the title.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Leicester City
Premier League
Manchester City
Manchester United
Tottenham Hotspur

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again