Leicester City win the Premier League

Published 2 Comments

Football News

Leicester City have won the Premier League title after Chelsea held London rivals Tottenham to a 2-2 draw at Stamford Bridge. 

Incredibly, the Foxes, who started the campaign way back at 5000/1 to claim the prestigious honour, have won the title with two league games remaining. 

It's safe to say that it's one of the greatest achievements in the history of English football. While the likes of Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool, Arsenal, Manchester City and co. have all failed to produce the goods on a consistent basis, Leicester have well and truly come to prominence. 


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article:

One of the greatest sporting upsets of all-time, Leicester have remarkably secured 77 points from 36 games this season. The Foxes have won 22 games, drawn 11 and lost just three in a quite astonishing campaign. 

Before the campaign kicked off, many pundits and fans alike had tipped Leicester for relegation, but they were wrong. 

Now, after an outstanding season, Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and the rest of Leicester's heroes, will get their hands on the Premier League trophy. 

We're quite sure that there's going to be one huge party when the new Premier League champions play host to Everton on Saturday. 

Social media reacts 

Unsurprisingly, on this historic night, things have taken off on social media...

Here are the best tweets: 

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Leicester City
Premier League
Gary Lineker
Tottenham Hotspur

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again