Cristiano Ronaldo has scored all types of goals during his illustrious career: goals with his right foot, left foot, head, even his chest - but never his hands.
Lionel Messi scored a handball goal back in 2007, while Diego Maradona famously did the same against England at the 1986 World Cup, and Cristiano attempted to add his name to the list during Real Madrid’s Champions League semi-final second leg victory over Manchester City this evening.
Pepe sent a cross to the back post and Ronaldo inexplicably slam-dunked the ball into the back of the net. (Scroll down this page to watch the video).
SUBMIT AN ARTICLE
Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250-word test article: https://gms.to/haveyoursay5
Ronaldo, however, managed to talk his way out of a booking.
The flag had gone up for offside and the three-time Ballon d’Or looked relieved when referee Damir Skomina opted against dishing out a yellow card.
Video: Ronaldo's slam dunk attempt
Real Madrid to play Atletico in the final
Real Madrid will play local rivals Atletico in the final on May 28 thanks to Fernando’s first-half own goal.
The goal was originally credited to Gareth Bale but replays showed the Welshman’s cross wasn’t on target - so he was denied his first Champions League goal since December 2014.
Will Real Madrid beat Atletico in the final? Have your say by leaving a comment below.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms