Tymal Mills, Dawid Malan and Liam Dawson called up to England's T20 squad

Published 2 Comments

Football News

England have named the uncapped Tymal Mills, Dawid Malan and Liam Dawson in a 13-man squad for their upcoming Twenty20 international against Sri Lanka.

Sussex paceman Mills, 23, has been on England's radar for some time but a back condition has restricted him to T20 cricket for the past year, while Middlesex batsman Malan has impressed for England Lions. Hampshire's spinning all-rounder Dawson will provide a versatile option.

The trio were the notable inclusions as England named two squads for their limited-overs games against the touring Sri Lankans.

None of those three featured in the 14-man party for the five one-day internationals which will precede the one-off T20 game.

Wicketkeeper-batsmen Jonny Bairstow and Jos Buttler were included in both squads while a third glovesman, Kent's Sam Billings, is involved for the T20 game.

There are no new players in the 50-over squad. Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy and David Willey all come into captain Eoin Morgan's group following the conclusion of the Test series.

Joe Root will play in the 50-over games, which begin at Trent Bridge on June 21, but sit out the July 5 T20 match at the Ageas Bowl.

England have resisted the temptation to recall Test bowling spearheads James Anderson and Stuart Broad, who had both indicated their availability for selection.

National selector James Whitaker said: "We have made good progress over the past 12 months in all white-ball cricket, which has been very encouraging.

"The six matches coming up against Sri Lanka will give the players a good test of their credentials. It is important for this group of players to make a mark this summer as we continue to improve ahead of hosting the ICC Champions Trophy tournament this time next year."

"The IT20 squad has a balanced feel to it with an exciting blend of youth and experience. This is our first test since reaching the final of the ICC World T20 and we know the players will want to ensure that they play well and win the match."

England squad for one-day international series v Sri Lanka:

Morgan (Middlesex, capt), Ali (Worcestershire), Bairstow (Yorkshire), Buttler (Lancashire), Finn (Middlesex), Jordan (Sussex), Hales (Nottinghamshire), Plunkett (Yorkshire), Rashid (Yorkshire), Root (Yorkshire), Roy (Surrey), Vince (Hampshire), Willey (Yorkshire), Woakes (Warwickshire).

England squad for Twety20 international v Sri Lanka:

Morgan (Middlesex, capt), Bairstow (Yorkshire), Billings (Kent), Buttler (Lancashire), Dawson (Hampshire), Jordan (Sussex), Malan (Middlesex), Mills (Sussex), Plunkett (Yorkshire), Rashid (Yorkshire), Roy (Surrey), Vince (Hampshire), Willey (Yorkshire).

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Jonny Bairstow

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again