Spain didn't really care whether they won or whether they drew against Croatia on Tuesday night. Either way, they were going to finish top of Group D, sailing through to the knockout rounds of Euro 2016 with seven points. All they had to do was not lose.
So when Sergio Ramos was given the chance to score from 12-yards out with just 20 minutes left on the clock, things were looking good for Vicente del Bosque. Sime Vrsaljko was adjudged to have fouled David Silva when he ran into the back of him. Having been denied a more obvious penalty only minutes before, Croatia were furious.
Ramos stepped up but goalkeeper Danijel Subasic heroically saved the penalty, which appeared to be the perfect height for him. A poor penalty, some might say. On reflection, however, something was seriously wrong: Subasic was quite literally cheating.
SIGN UP NOW
Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article: https://gms.to/haveyoursay4
Take a look at the video below and you will see the Croatian goalkeeper is a good three yards off of his line when he actually touches the ball. FIFA rules state that a goalkeeper must stay on his line for a penalty with any advantageous infringement resulting in the retaking of the penalty.
But the referee, the linesman and that other referee that never appears to do much at all, failed to spot the fact that Subasic was almost halfway towards the Spain captain when he made the save.
With Croatia going on to score the winner in the 87th with Ivan Perisic, it is fair to say it had a pretty huge bearing on the outcome of the match. It meant Spain finished second in the group and now face Italy in the Round of 16. Yeah, pretty damn big.
So not only are Spain furious with the referee but most of Italy will be too.
Needless to say, Twitter has been left utterly confused.
Then this happened
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms