Mark Cavendish named in star-studded Great Britain cycling squad for Rio

Lizzie Armitstead, Mark Cavendish, Chris Froome, Laura Trott and Sir Bradley Wiggins will lead a 26-strong Great Britain cycling team to the Rio Olympics this summer.

Cavendish and Trott will ride in the multi-discipline omnium event, with double London 2012 champion Trott also appearing in the women’s team pursuit.

Joining Wiggins, who is chasing an eighth Olympic medal, in the men’s team pursuit quartet are Steven Burke, Ed Clancy and Owain Doull, with Cavendish providing back-up.

The team for the men’s road race will be led by double Tour de France champion Froome, with Pete Kennaugh, Ian Stannard, Geraint Thomas and Adam Yates taking the other slots.

Lizzie Armitstead is GB’s main hope in the women’s road race, where she will be supported by Nikki Harris and Emma Pooley.

The sprinters are Jason Kenny, Phil Hindes and Callum Skinner on the men’s side, and Becky James and Katy Marchant on the women’s.

Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Ciara Horne and Joanna Rowsell-Shand have been given the nod for the women’s team pursuit squad, while Ryan Owens is the reserve for the men’s sprint trio.

Great Britain failed to qualify anybody in the mountain bike or women’s BMX competition but Kyle Evans and Liam Phillips will go for gold in the men’s BMX, both being well on the road to recovery from a recent training accident.

News Now - Sport News