How the original franchise have fared 67 years on

Published 2 Comments

Football News

67 years ago to this day, the National Basketball Association was born. 11 teams from the BAA and NBL came together to create the first iteration of the now-30-team league we have in front of us today.

After numerous name and location changes, only seven teams from the originals remain, GiveMeSport takes a look at how the franchises have fared since 1949.

Unrivalled success

Without a doubt, the two most successful franchises in NBA history, the Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers, have been here since the very beginning. With a combined total of 33 championships and 52 conference titles, the two franchises have gone head-to-head in some of the most heated games we've ever seen.

Formerly the Minneapolis Lakers, they won the first official NBA season - having won the 1949 BAA title. The Celtics didn't win their first championship until 1957, but they enjoyed a period of dominance from '59-'69 that saw them win 10 championships and beat the Lakers seven times in the finals.

The Purple and Gold had their own period at the top in the 2000s, winning five titles. In total, the two teams have played each other 12 times in the showpiece event. Most recently, the Lakers claimed their 16th and last ring with a 4-3 win over Boston. Beantown lifted the Larry O'Brien trophy with a 4-2 win.

Each franchise is a who's who of legends; Magic Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Larry Bird, Shaquille O'Neal, Wilt Chamberlain, Bill Russell, John Havlicek and Kevin McHale are just some of the names that spring to mind.

Moments of magic

Not all franchises can have the continued success of the aforementioned duo, but these three have certainly had their moments in the spotlight.

The Golden State Warriors are going through their greatest period in franchise history right now after winning their fourth championship - third since the merge - in 2015, breaking the record for regular season wins the next season then adding Kevin Durant to a team with three 2016 All-Stars.

The former Philadelphia Warriors are leading the new wave in the NBA and should stay at the top for some time to come. The 'new' franchise in Philly, the former Syracuse Nationals have also captured the imagination of fans across the world in the past. Despite their three titles coming between 1955 and 1983, the ten-year Allen Iverson era is how they are remembered most fondly.

They may have won just one conference title in that period but A.I. went down as one of the biggest legends in NBA history and the Sixers developed a new generation of fans thanks to the diminutive guard. Other legends include Charles Barkley, Julius Erving, Moses Malone and Wilt.

Just like the Celtics, the New York Knicks have survived without any rebranding or relocation. So long they waited for a title, and it finally came in 1971 after a truly heroic season from Willis Reed, who was MVP, All-Star MVP and Finals MVP in the same season.

They repeated the success with Reed and Earl Monroe in 1973 but have gone without a ring-winning campaign since. Chances have come and gone, and a lot of missed opportunities loom over the biggest market in the NBA. They haven't been to the finals since 1999.

Limited success

The NBA is a league that changes often, a team can go from top to bottom or vice versa in the blink of an eye, but one thing that has stayed the same throughout the course of history is the inability of the Sacramento Kings and Atlanta Hawks to reach that truly elite level consistently.

The teams have been through a combined total of seven brand changes or relocation, more than the two titles they have won and the five finals appearances they boast. The Kings have been in one final - 1951 - and boast one championship, at least they have a 100 percent record.

It's been a pretty average time for the franchise who share a division with the Warriors and Lakers and have only topped it three times in history. They haven't been to the playoffs since 2006.

The Atlanta Hawks may have only won one title, but they have more to shout about. The San Antonio Spurs of the east, just without the rings, have been a model of consistency over the last decade, but just can't get over that final hurdle. A prime example of this was topping the conference in 2015, having four All-Stars, but being swept by LeBron James and Cleveland in the conference finals. Their only win came in 1958, as the St. Louis Hawks.

New York Knicks
Atlantic Division
Eastern Conference
Boston Celtics
Sacramento Kings
Pacific Division
Western Conference
Philadelphia 76ers
Golden State Warriors
Atlanta Hawks
Southeast Division
L.A. Lakers

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport - NBA Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again