Manchester United must break Community Shield trend to win Premier League

Published 2 Comments

Football News

Manchester United may well have secured Community Shield success against Premier League champions Leicester City at Wembley on Sunday, but that doesn't necessarily mean that they will go on to enjoy a prosperous season. 

The Red Devils opened the scoring mid-way through the first half thanks to a fine solo goal from Jesse Lingard. Jamie Vardy equalised for the Foxes following an awful back pass from Marouane Fellaini, but enigmatic striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic netted late on to help Jose Mourinho claim his first piece of silverware for the club. 

As well as overcoming Claudio Ranieri and co., United announced that France international Paul Pogba is set to have a medical with the club in the coming days. 


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article:

It was quite the day for United supporters, who will now believe that their club can finally return to the summit of the division. 

But there's an interesting trend from recent winners of the Community Shield. Indeed, the last five victors of English football's curtain raiser haven't been able to go on to win the Premier League title.  

It must be noted, however, that United, back in the 2010-11 season, were the last team to claim both the Community Shield and the Premier League title. 


  • Community Shield winners: Manchester United
  • Premier League winners: Manchester City
  • Manchester United's Premier League position: 2nd 

Sir Alex Ferguson won the Community Shield at the start of his penultimate season in charge of the Red Devils after his side produced a remarkable comeback to beat Manchester City by three goals to two. 

Goals from Joleon Lescott and Edin Dzeko had put Roberto Mancini's side in control at the break, but Chris Smalling and a brace from Portugal star Nani helped United claim the win. 

But City well and truly had the last laugh as they went on to secure the Premier League title. As we all know, United were left heartbroken after Argentine striker Sergio Aguero netted in stoppage time against QPR on the final day of the season to help City pip their rivals to the prestigious honour on goal difference. The 2011/12 season ended quite remarkably. 


  • Community Shield winners: Manchester City  
  • Premier League winners: Manchester United
  • Manchester City's Premier League position: 2nd 

The feel good factor for Manchester City continued at the start of the 2012/13 season as, on this occasion, the Citizens were on the right side of a 3-2 scoreline against rivals Chelsea at Villa Park. 

Fernando Torres had put Chelsea in front in the first half, but three quickfire goals from Yaya Toure, Carlos Tevez and Samir Nasri all but sealed the win for City. Ryan Bertrand netted late on for the west London outfit, but City held on for the win. 

Despite their impressive showing in the Community Shield, they were way off the pace in the race for the title. The Sky Blues may have secured second spot, but United, who were inspired by Dutchman Robin van Persie, cruised to the title. Ferguson's final season in charge of the Red Devils duly ended in success. 


  • Community Shield winners: Manchester United
  • Premier League winner: Manchester City
  • Manchester United's Premier League position: 7th 

David Moyes' infamous sole season in charge of United actually started admirably as his side overcame Wigan by two goals to nil. A brace from Van Persie guided Moyes' side to a comfortable victory, but it's fair to say that the win gave fans false hope. 

Moyes' side were extremely lacklustre and way off the pace throughout the course of the season. City, on the other hand, hit back with a vengeance and just about edged out Liverpool to English football's elite prize. 

The duo of Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge almost helped the Reds to their first ever Premier League title, but they just couldn't get over the line. Poor results against Chelsea and Crystal Palace will forever haunt Brendan Rodgers and the Liverpool faithful. 


  • Community Shield winners: Arsenal 
  • Premier League winners: Chelsea
  • Arsenal's Premier League position: 3rd 

Arsenal were rampant during the 2014/15 Community Shield as they cruised past Manchester City at Wembley. Arsene Wenger's side cruised to victory thanks to goals from Santi Cazorla, Aaron Ramsey and Olivier Giroud. 

Ultimately, though, that didn't help the Emirates club to end their Premier League trophy drought. Another FA Cup success followed, but the Gunners were unable to truly stamp their mark on the title race. 

That honour belonged to Mourinho and Chelsea, who were on another level to their rivals. Losing just three Premier League games all season, the Stamford Bridge outfit ended a mammoth 12 points in front of third-placed Arsenal. 


  • Community Shield winners: Arsenal
  • Premier League winners: Leicester City
  • Arsenal's Premier League position: 2nd 

Arsenal made it back-to-back Community Shield successes with a 1-0 victory over Chelsea. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain struck past Thibaut Courtois to score the only goal of the game at Wembley. 

Chelsea's season only went further downhill from there, while Arsenal once again failed to hit the summit of the division. Wenger's side managed to pip Tottenham to second place on the final day of the Premier League campaign, but the season well and truly belonged to Leicester City. 

Ranieri's side upset the odds to win their first ever major title. Led by the trio of Jamie Vardy, N'Golo Kante and Riyad Mahrez, the Foxes romped the division by 10 points. 

Do you think United will win the Premier League this season? Have your say below! 

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Wayne Rooney
Rio Ferdinand
Premier League
Juan Mata
Manchester United
Ryan Giggs
Jose Mourinho

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again