Anderton winner sends holders out

Published Add your comment

Football News

Darren Anderton hit a second-half winner as Bournemouth sent holders MK Dons crashing out of the Johnstone's Paint Trophy with a 1-0 win at stadium:mk.

The former England midfielder diverted Danny Hollands' shot past Nathan Abbey in the 78th minute after Dons midfielder Flavien Belson was earlier sent off.

Immediately after half-time there was controversy as Belson received a straight red card for a late challenge on substitute Brett Pitman, but after 69 minutes Shwan Jawal pulled off a fine save to deny Gallen's point blank header.

Bournemouth came close to opening the scoring in the 75th minute when Anderton's 25-yard strike cannoned off the top of the crossbar. But three minutes later the midfielder struck to send the send Bournemouth through and give the struggling League Two side a much needed boost.

Luton dumped in-form Brentford out 4-3 on penalties after battling back from 2-0 down to draw 2-2 in an action-packed encounter at Kenilworth Road.

On-loan goalkeeper Conrad Logan was the hero saving two of the spot-kicks, allowing Rossi Jarvis to score the decisive kick from 12 yards.

The Bees, who went into the game on the back of a nine-match unbeaten run, took the lead in the 18th minute when Glenn Poole arrowed home an unstoppable shot from 30 yards.

Luton responded well and came close to levelling on the half-hour mark when Asa Hall's 10-yard header skimmed the crossbar after a cross from debutant Garreth O'Connor.

Instead Brentford went further ahead in the 37th minute when Michael Spillane was dispossessed on the edge of his own area by Marvin Williams, who rounded Logan to score.

The Hatters pulled a goal back two minutes later when Ed Asafu-Adjaye's deep cross was met by Hall, whose downward header bounced inside the far post. Luton made it 2-2 in the 55th minute when Chris Martin looped a 10-yard header past visiting stopper Ben Hamer after O'Connor's left-wing cross.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2008, All Rights Reserved.

Chris Martin
Milton Keynes Dons
Chris Martin
Rossi Jarvis
Nathan Abbey
Conrad Logan
Garreth O'Connor
Glenn Poole
Darren Anderton
Ben Hamer
Ed Asafu-Adjaye
Danny Hollands
Marvin Williams
Michael Spillane
League Two
Asa Hall
Rossi Jarvis
Flavien Belson
Nathan Abbey
Brett Pitman

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again