Jamie Chadwick, Alice Powell: W Series 2022 pre-season test roster revealed


The third instalment of the W Series is right around the corner and the full pre-season roster has been revealed.

Alongside the eight drivers who have automatically qualified for the 2022 season, a further 12 will compete for their place on this year’s official driver lineup.

The three-day on-track test will take place at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, starting on March 2nd.

Two-time and reigning champion Jamie Chadwick has already guaranteed her spot on the roster, alongside fellow Britons Sarah Moore, Abbi Pulling, and last season’s runner-up Alice Powell.

Despite only featuring in four races out of eight, Pulling ended her debut W Series season on a high by finishing second in the final race at the Circuit of the Americas and qualifying for her spot this year.

The other drivers who finished inside the top eight, and have secured their participation in the 2022 campaign, are Emma Kimiläinen, Nerea Martí, Fabienne Wohlwend, and Beitske Visser.

Last season’s W Series Academy driver Irina Sidorkova has also qualified and will be using the test event to reacquaint herself with the Tatuus T-318 Formula 3 cars.

The pre-season event will feature some other familiar faces from last season, but they must compete for their place on the main roster, having finished outside the top eight.

Jessica Hawkins, Marta García, Belén García, and Bruna Tomaselli will all return to fight for their place in another W Series championship. But they will be hotly contested by the new drivers who are looking to showcase their speed and abilities in Barcelona.

Tereza Babickova, Léna Bühler, Bianca Bustamante, Chloe Chambers, and Emely De Heus were all selected to join the test event after impressing at the driver search and testing programme in Arizona earlier this month.

The scouted drivers will be joined by newcomers Megan Gilkes of Canada, and Japan’s Juju Noda, who will be the youngest on the grid at just 16 years old.

The full pre-season roster is as follows:

Tereza BabickovaCzech Republic18
Léna BühlerSwitzerland24
Bianca BustamantePhillippines 17
Jamie ChadwickUnited Kingdom23
Chloe ChambersUSA17
Emely De HeusNetherlands19
Belen GarciaSpain22
Marta GarciaSpain21
Megan GilkesCanada21
Jessica HawkinsUnited Kingdom27
Emma KimiläinenFinland32
Nerea MartíSpain20
Sarah MooreUnited Kingdom28
Juju NodaJapan16
Alice PowellUnited Kingdom29
Abbi PullingUnited Kingdom18
Irina SidorkovaRussia18
Bruna TomaselliBrazil24
Beitske VisserNetherlands26
Fabienne WohlwendLiechtenstein24

W Series will once again be racing in support of the Formula 1 season and will host Grand Prix weekends in locations including Miami, Silverstone, and a first ever visit to Asia when the championship arrives in Japan.

You can check out the full W Series 2022 racing calendar here.

News Now - Sport News