Elden Ring: Which starting class is right for you?

Elden Ring

Elden Ring has released worldwide and is understandably being hailed as one of the best games of this console generation already, but which starting class is right for you?

The game has released on multiple platforms, including the PS5, the Xbox Series X/S, PC, and the old generation of consoles.

It is a sweeping epic that has taken From Software years to craft, and will likely take hundreds of hours to fully explore.

The game offers a wide array of customisation options when you first head into the game, and you can spend a couple of hours in the character creation screen, especially if you’re anything like us!

Before you begin your journey in the Lands Between, you’ll be asked to pick your class and this will have a huge impact on the remainder of your playthrough.

Depending on what you pick, you’ll have a different weapon, a different cocktail of stats, and a different appearance.

Of course, this is also designed to allow you to have multiple playthroughs of the game, using different characters each time.

But this guide is designed for when you first boot Elden Ring up and dive into the deadly, beautiful world that From Software have managed to create.

A guide to each class in Elden Ring

Elden Ring

When you start the game up, you’ll be able to choose from 10 different classes.

These are as follows.

  • Astrologer
  • Bandit
  • Confessor
  • Hero
  • Prisoner
  • Prophet
  • Samurai
  • Vagabond
  • Warrior
  • Wretch

There’s a fair bit to take in with each class so we’ll go through them one by one.


The bonus with using the astrologer class is you’ll have instant access to magic. You’ll be able to use two spells right from the start of the game, and that could be a game-changer in terms of how you approach boss fights and other battles in the first few hours.

The initial weapons will see you have a staff – used for casting said spells – a sword, and a small shield.

You’re physically weak at the start of the game, although the stats for Mind and Intelligence are both high. You’ll start as a level 6.


The bandit class relies on stealth. You’ll start off with a great knife, a small shield, and a shortbow that you can use to fire arrows from the shadows.

The general attributes are mixed but the highest level is Arcane, with 14, which governs item discovery. You’ll be finding stuff out in the world, but the starting level is low, at 5.

There’s no starting magic here but it is one of the coolest looking classes in the game, as you’re face will be half-covered – something to consider if you’ve spent hours creating your character and want to see them!


You’ll start at level 10 if you go with the confessor, and this is a pretty well-rounded class.

There are attributes over 10 for attack, defence, and magic, so you can go whichever way you want in terms of building your class up.

When it comes to your starting weapons, you’ll have a broadsword, a decent shield, and a finger seal that will boost your attack strength.

There’s also magic, with the assassin’s approach spell – silencing your footsteps and reducing fall damage – and the urgent heal spell, which does what it says on the tin and boosts a small amount of health.


Gamers will have to wait until 2022 to play Elden Ring

The hero class is all about brute strength.

You’ll start off with a strength stat of 16 and an endurance stat of 12; keep boosting these two and you’ll be able to wield some really hefty weapons.

The hero starts off with a massive battle axe that can fell some huge enemies, also with a large leather shield.

There aren’t any spells, and you’ll begin at a level of 7.


The prisoner class starts at level nine and has a mix of attributes; you’ll be able to fight opponents with handheld weapons and also utilise magic.

At the start of the game, you’ll have the estoc sword, which is a more thrusting sword, as well as a staff and a shield.

The staff means you can cast spells and you’ll have one off the bat: the magic glintblade. It creates a sigil of a glinting blade that will target nearby enemies, which is mightily helpful in combat.


The prophet starts at level seven and has a surprisingly low amount of health when you start off.

But you’ll have a number of magic spells that will aid your quest as soon as you start and you’ve got a huge amount of faith.

You’ll begin with the short spear and a rickety shield as well as two spells; heal and catch flame.

Heal will moderately restore either your health or allies around you if you’re playing co-operatively, while the catch flame gives you flames on your hands that you can throw at enemies, which is awesome.


One of the coolest looking classes in the game, the samurai has high endurance and high dexterity, which means that you can keep using hefty weapons in your battles.

They also have the unique ability of bleed, which causes continuous damage to enemies if you utilise it properly.

Magic isn’t a goer here and you’ll start at level nine, with the sharpened katana and a longbow, which you can shoot arrows and fire arrows from.


A screenshot taken from Elden Ring. (Credit: FromSoftware)

The vagabond starts at level nine and has great strength and high starting health, which is really good for melee combat.

This is another class where magic really isn’t much of an option unless you focus on pouring attribute points into using spells.

You’ll start with a longsword, a halberd and a shield but no spells.


The warrior class, as you may have guessed, is all about melee combat.

You’ll start at level five but this class is all about getting on the front foot and not focusing all that much on defence; it’s more about dodging than blocking.

You’ll have two scimitars which you can duel wield should you decide to, along with a small shield. There’s no magic, though.


You probably don’t want to choose the wretch class.

It’s there as a completely blank slate and you’ll start at level one. You’ll start off basically naked, and you’ll have a club. There’s no magic and no shield.

All of their stats are spread evenly – you’ll have 10 in every attribute apart from faith, in which you’ll start with zero.

It takes a very brave gamer to pick the wretch class in Elden Ring.

News Now - Sport News