W Series: Abbie Eaton returns to complete 2022 season lineup

Abbie Eaton of W Series

Abbie Eaton is set to compete in this season’s W Series after recovering from a back injury she picked up last year.

The British driver’s 2021 campaign was cut short after she was forced to withdraw from the final two races in Austin, Texas due to the injury.

Fortunately, Eaton was able to recover in time for the start of the 2022 season next month and completes this year’s 18-driver grid.

The 30-year-old will rejoin fellow Britons Alice Powell, Abbi Pulling, Sarah Moore, Jessica Hawkins and reigning champion Jamie Chadwick on the roster.

Eaton finished 13th overall last year while representing Ecurie W. This season, she will join Moore on the Scuderia W Team, replacing Spaniard Belén García, who has moved to team Quantfury alongside compatriot Nerea Martí.

Eaton made her W Series debut in 2021 and notched four top-10 finishes from the first six races. Her best record was two sixth place finishes at the Red Bull Ring in Austria and Circuit Zandvoort in the Netherlands.

“To have another opportunity with W Series is what I’ve wanted ever since I broke my back six months ago, so I’m relieved that all my hard work has paid off,” Eaton said.

SPIELBERG, AUSTRIA – JUNE 25: Abbie Eaton of Great Britain drives on track during practice ahead of W Series Round 1 at Red Bull Ring on June 25, 2021 in Spielberg, Austria. (Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images)

“I’m super excited to be back and hoping to get stronger as time goes on, but the tests and races I’ve done over the last few weeks have been promising and I’m looking forward to the first race in Miami.”

In partnership with Formula 1, the W Series has added five new Grand Prix circuits to the calendar and extended the season to ten races.

The Championship will get underway in Miami on May 8th, before visiting new locations in Spain, France, Mexico, and Japan.

Joining Eaton on the 2022 grid are five new drivers. Juju Noda, who at 16 is the youngest competitor on the roster, will be looking to mark her W Series debut with a strong performance, alongside Tereza Babickova, Bianca Bustamante, Chloe Chambers, and Emely de Heus.

Ayla Agren, who represents Norway on the track and made her W Series debut last year, will be this year’s reserve driver.

The full 2022 driver line-up is as follows:

Tereza BabickovaCzech Republic18
Bianca BustamantePhilippines17
Jamie ChadwickUK23
Chloe ChambersUSA17
Emely de HeusThe Netherlands19
Abbie EatonUK30
Belén GarcíaSpain22
Marta GarcíaSpain21
Jessica HawkinsUK27
Emma KimiläinenFinland32
Nerea MartíSpain20
Sarah MooreUK28
Juju NodaJapan16
Alice PowellUK29
Abbi PullingUK19
Bruna TomaselliBrazil24
Beitske VisserThe Netherlands26
Fabienne WohlwendLiechtenstein24
News Now - Sport News