AEW: Top star announced for NJPW Tournament

At NJPW Dontaku 2022, NJPW announced the participants to take part in 2022 Best Of The Super Juniors Tournament. 

The Best Of The Super Juniors Tournament is a highly respected tournament in NJPW that sees 20 of the best 100kg and below stars collide in a round-robin style tournament to determine the winner. The brackets see two blocks of 10 with the winner of both blocks competing in the final against one another.

There are some huge debuts in this tournament from numerous promotions with the likes of IMPACT Wrestling’s X-Division Champion Ace Austin, GCW Original Alex Zayne, and the latest acquisition of Will Ospreay’s United Empire Francesco Akira in the A bracket. 

These men will collide with the likes of IWGP Jr Heavyweight Champion, Bullet Club’s Bone Soldier Taiji Ishimori, IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Tag Team Champion Rysuke Taguchi 

Also, last year’s winner and 3x Best Of The Super Juniors winner Hiromu Takahashi. Takahashi looks to add a fourth and second consecutive BOSJ win to his collection. 

However, in the B bracket, there is a huge debut and the only participant from AEW featured in the tournament. This being none other than Blackpool Combat Club’s very own and ROH Pure Champion Wheeler Yuta.

Yuta has been on a roll over the past month and hasn’t suffered a loss in All Elite Wrestling since aligning himself with Jon Moxley, Bryan Danielson and William Regal. 

Yuta secured silverware after defeating Josh Woods at ROH Supercard Of Honor 2022. 

Yuta has a chance to revolutionise AEW further and utilise this momentum and the teachings of his fellow BCC members and secure what would be the biggest achievement in his career thus far. 

However, in his bracket he has tough, hungry challengers who want it just as bad. He will have to collide with BOSJ veterans such as BUSHI who enters his 10th BOSJ, El Desperado who enters his 6th, Robbie Eagles who enters his 4th, and another half of the IWGP Jr Heavyweight Tag Team Champions in Master Wato who enters his third and many more. 

Yuta has the opportunity to cement his legacy amongst the best who stepped inside a NJPW ring. The likes of Prince Devitt (Finn Balor), Ricochet, Will Ospreay, Jushin Thunder Liger, Kota Ibushi, Hiroshu Takahashi and many more. 

The NJPW BOSJ 2022 tournament will take begin May 15th. 

You can watch AEW internationally on FITE TV.

News Now - Sport News