Gerrard, Kane, Suarez, Bale: Best XI to have never won Premier League title

Steven Gerrard features as the best XI to have never won the Premier League named

Steven Gerrard enjoyed a remarkable career.

The Englishman spent 17 years in England’s top tier with Liverpool, playing 504 times and scoring 120 goals.

He was named in the Premier League Hall of Fame in 2021, becoming the seventh inductee.

However, despite being one of the best midfielders of the 21st century, Gerrard never won the Premier League title.

He isn’t the only legendary player to never win the Premier League, though.

We’ve listed the best XI of players to have never won the Premier League since it’s inception in 1992.

Premier League Final Day: Predictions, Scenarios and More

GK: Pepe Reina (Liverpool, Aston Villa)

Reina was one of the best goalkeepers in the Premier League throughout his nine-year stint at Liverpool.

He made 285 appearances in England’s top tier for the club and won the Golden Glove three times.

CB: Marcel Desailly (Chelsea)

Desailly is one of the greatest defenders of his generation. He won the Champions League with both Marseille and AC Milan, while he was part of the France sides that won the 1998 World Cup and Euro 2000.

He joined Chelsea at the age of 29 but was unable to win the Premier League in his six-season stint.

He left the Blues in 2004. They won their first Premier League title a year later.

Marcel Desailly features as the best XI to have never won the Premier League named
PRAGUE – SEPTEMBER 16: Marcel Desailly of Chelsea during the team line-up prior to the UEFA Champions League Group G match between AC Sparta Prague and Chelsea on September 16, 2003 at the Letna Stadium in Prague, Czech Republic. Chelsea won the match 1-0. (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)

CB: Jamie Carragher (Liverpool)

Carragher was a fierce competitor who was a mainstay at Liverpool for 17 years. He played 508 Premier League appearances, the ninth most in the competition’s history.

CB: Sami Hyypia (Liverpool)

Hyypia played alongside Carragher at Liverpool for 10 years. He won 10 trophies with the club, but none were the Premier League.

Sami Hyypia features as the best XI to have never won the Premier League named
LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND – DECEMBER 11: Sami Hyypia of Liverpool during the FA Barclays Premiership match between Everton and Liverpool at Goodison Park on December 11, 2004 in Liverpool, England. (Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images)

RM: David Ginola (Newcastle United, Tottenham Hotspur, Aston Villa, Everton)

A classy player, Ginola was named in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year twice (1995โ€“96, 1998โ€“99), while he was also named the PFA Players’ Player of the Year in 1998-99.

CM: Luka Modric (Tottenham Hotspur)

Modric never came close to winning the Premier League during his four-season stint with Tottenham. He has won three La Liga titles since joining Real Madrid in 2012.

Luka Modric features as the best XI to have never won the Premier League named
LONDON, ENGLAND – AUGUST 29: Luka Modric of Tottenham Hotspur in action during the Barclays Premier League match between Tottenham Hotspur and Birmingham City at White Hart Lane on August 29, 2009 in London, England. (Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images)

CM: Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

The closest Gerrard came to winning the Premier League came in the 2013/14 season. Liverpool missed out by two points after faltering in the final few games.

LM: Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)

Bale was electric for Tottenham. He was unstoppable in the 2012/13 season as he notched 21 league goals. He joined Modric at Real Madrid in 2013 and the two have won four Champions League titles together.

CAM: Gianfranco Zola (Chelsea)

The Italian magician, standing at just five foot six inches tall, scored 59 Premier League goals in 229 games for the club.

Gianfranco Zola features as the best XI to have never won the Premier League named
22 Jul 2000: Gianfranco Zola of Chelsea during a pre season friendly match against Kingstonian at Kingsmeadow in London, England. Chelsea won 3 – 1. \ Mandatory Credit: Tom Shaw /Allsport

ST: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Kane has scored 182 Premier League goals, the fifth most of any player in Premier League history. Now 28, time is running out for the Englishman.

Marcel Desailly, Steven Gerrard, Harry Kane and Gareth Bale feature as the best XI to have never won the Premier League named

ST: Luis Suarez (Liverpool)

Suarez enjoyed one of the greatest campaigns in Premier League history as he scored 31 times in 33 games in the 2013/14 season for Liverpool. It wasn’t enough, though, as they narrowly missed out to Man City.

Honourable mentions: Ledley King, Xabi Alonso, Matthew Le Tissier, Robbie Fowler, Fernando Torres, Les Ferdinand

David Beckham quiz: How much do you know about the football legend?

1 of 20

What is Beckham’s full name?

News Now - Sport News