Jurgen Klopp goes viral for wholesome moment with Sir Alex Ferguson after winning award

  • Rob Swan
Jurgen Klopp goes viral for wholesome moment with Fergie after winning Manager of the Year award

Jurgen Klopp was named Barclays Premier League Manager of the Season and also secured the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year on Tuesday.

Although Liverpool narrowly missed out on the 2021-22 Premier League title to Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City, Klopp still claimed the individual prizes at Tuesday night’s event.

Klopp has won two trophies with the Reds so far this season – the Carabao Cup and FA Cup – and could make it three after this weekend’s Champions League final.

Liverpool face Real Madrid at the Stade de France on Saturday evening and head into the final as favourites.

The Merseyside outfit also came agonisingly close to winning the Premier League last weekend but Man City’s 3-2 victory was enough to earn Guardiola’s men a fourth league title in five seasons.

LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND – MAY 22: Jurgen Klopp, Manager of Liverpool applauds the fans following the Premier League match between Liverpool and Wolverhampton Wanderers at Anfield on May 22, 2022 in Liverpool, England. (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)

What did Jurgen Klopp say after winning Manager of the Year?

After wining the Manager of the Season award, Klopp was quoted by Sky Sports as saying: “It is a great honour and it was an insane season. The last matchday when only two games were meaningless and, in the rest, we all played for absolutely everything.

“It was a bit nervy, it wasn’t the best outcome for us, but we are already over it. And when you win a prize like this you are either a genius, or you have the best coaching staff in the world – I am here with four of my coaching staff, and they know how much I appreciate them.”

Jurgen Klopp with the FA Cup
LONDON, ENGLAND – MAY 14: Juergen Klopp, Manager of Liverpool celebrates with The Emirates FA Cup trophy after their sides victory during The FA Cup Final match between Chelsea and Liverpool at Wembley Stadium on May 14, 2022 in London, England. (Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images)

Sir Alex Ferguson hands LMA award to Jurgen Klopp

Sir Alex Ferguson then announced Klopp as the winner of the LMA award, which is voted for by the full membership of managers across all the divisions in England.

“This is agony, it’s absolute agony…Jurgen Klopp,” the Manchester United legend said.

Klopp added: “This being voted for by my colleagues is obviously most important prize you can get.

“I don’t believe in individual prizes in football generally, it is a team sport and I would be nothing without these boys there. It is all about what we can do together and what we did together.”

Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp
BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND – MAY 10: Juergen Klopp, Manager of Liverpool celebrates with the fans after their sides victory during the Premier League match between Aston Villa and Liverpool at Villa Park on May 10, 2022 in Birmingham, England. (Photo by Naomi Baker/Getty Images)

Video: Jurgen Klopp pulls Sir Alex Ferguson back in for photo

There was a heartwarming moment where Ferguson stepped aside to allow Klopp to have his photo taken with the trophy and England manager Gareth Southgate.

But Klopp, who is a huge admirer of Ferguson, pulled the 80-year-old back towards him so they could all have a photo taken together.

Watch the clip here:

They might be legends at two rival clubs but their mutual respect for each other is clear for all to see.

Let’s check out some of the best reaction:

Who has won most LMA Manager of the Year awards?

Klopp has now won the LMA Manager of the Year award twice, putting him level with Guardiola, Arsene Wenger and, somewhat surprisingly, Steve Coppell.

Only David Moyes (3) and Ferguson (five) have won the individual accolade on more occasions.

Sir Alex Ferguson with the Premier League trophy
MANCHESTER, ENGLAND – MAY 16: Manchester United Manager Sir Alex Ferguson celebrates with the Barclays Premier League trophy after his side won the Premier League title at the end of the Barclays Premier League match between Manchester United and Arsenal at Old Trafford on May 16, 2009 in Manchester, England. (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)
News Now - Sport News