Rodrygo, Ramos, Drogba: The top 10 last-minute Champions League goals ever

Champions League final goals

There’s nothing better than a last minute goal and the Champions League has produced a lot of them over the years. 

From that famous night at the Camp Nou in 1999, to the staggering events that unfolded at the Bernabeu this season, GiveMeSport runs through the top 10 last-minute Champions League goals ever: 

Teddy Sherringham & Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (Man United) – Champions League Final 1999

Man United famously scored two goals in stoppage time to stun Bayern Munich in 1999, so it’s only fitting to include both Teddy Sherringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer on this list. 

With Bayern one goal to the good, Sherringham struck in the 91st minute, after diverting Ryan Giggs’ snap-shot into the back of the net. 

Then, just 30 seconds later, United forced another corner. Sherringham nodded the ball down, before Solskjaer stuck out a foot and poked home. 

Rodrygo (Real Madrid) – Champions League semi-final second leg 2022

Man City suffered one of the most unexpected Champions League collapses ever against Real Madrid this season. 

City had won the first leg 4-3 and were 1-0 to the good at the Bernabeu with one minute of normal time remaining. 

But then Rodrygo happened! 

The Brazilian winger came on as a substitute and pulled a goal back in the 89th minute. Then, 90 seconds later, he headed home another to force extra time. 

Karim Benzema subsequently scored a penalty in extra time as the Spanish side stunned Pep Guardiola’s team. 

Mandy Islacker (Frankfurt) – Women’s Champions League Final 2015

Frankfurt were three-time Champions League winners when they faced a PSG side searching for their first European silverware in 2015. 

The match looked set to be going to extra time, before Mandy Islacker pounced on a loose ball in the box to score a wonderful winner in the 92nd minute.

As a result, Frankfurt claimed their fourth title –– a record at that point, though Lyon have now won the tournament on eight occasions.

Andres Iniesta (Barcelona) – Champions League semi-final second leg 2009 

Andres Iniesta’s insane stoppage time strike ended Chelsea’s hopes of reaching a second successive Champions League Final. 

Chelsea had drawn the first leg 0-0 against Barcelona, but dominated the second leg at Stamford Bridge. Michael Essien looked to have scored the winner, however, Iniesta’s strike ensured Barca progressed on away goals. 

The match was full of controversy, as referee Tom Ovrebo rejected a number of penalty appeals from the Blues, some of which the ref has now confessed should’ve been given. 

Lucas Moura (Spurs) – Champions League semi-final second-leg 2019

Spurs produced a miraculous second half comeback against Ajax in 2019 to seal a spot in the Champions League final for the first time. 

Ajax were three goals up on aggregate at half-time in Amsterdam and looked to be cruising through, but Lucas had other ideas. 

The Brazilian scored twice in the space of five minutes just before the hour-mark to set up a tense finale, before slotting home a winner with just seconds of stoppage time remaining. 

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid) – Champions League Final 2014

Atletico were on course to defeat their arch-rivals in the 2014 Champions League final, having taken the lead thanks to a goal from Diego Godin.

However, Sergio Ramos scored a glancing header in the 93rd minute to send the game to extra-time. 

Madrid then scored three unanswered goals to win 4-1 and claim their first European title since 2002.

Alex Scott (Arsenal) – UEFA Women’s Cup Final 2007

Arsenal’s only European silverware came in 2007, back when the Champions League was known as the UEFA Women’s Cup and the final consisted of two legs. 

The Gunners faced Swedish side Umeå and there was just one goal scored over the two legs. 

It was Alex Scott who notched the winner for Vic Akers’ side –– scoring in the 91st minute of the first leg at the Umeå Energi Arena. 

Arsenal remain the only English women’s side to ever win the Women’s Champions League.

Didier Drogba (Chelsea) – Champions League Final 2012

Didier Drogba’s bullet header at the death cancelled out Thomas Muller’s opening goal to send Chelsea’s tie with Bayern Munich to extra time. 

Drogba turned from hero to villain at the start of extra-time, after conceding a penalty. However, Petr Cech saved from Arjen Robben as the game went to penalties. 

Fittingly, it was the Chelsea striker who scored the winning spot-kick as the Blues won their first ever Champions League title. 

Sergi Roberto (Barcelona) – Champions League round of 16 2017

Barcelona became the first team to ever overturn a 4-0 first leg deficit in a Champions League match as they knocked out PSG to reach the quarter-finals in 2017. 

The Spanish side were 5-3 down on aggregate with seven minutes to play, but scored three late goals to seal a remarkable comeback. 

The last goal came in the 95th minute, when Sergi Roberto connected with Neymar’s cross to poke home his first goal of the season. 

Maren Mjelde (Chelsea) – Women’s Champions League quarter-final second leg 2019

Chelsea held a 2-0 lead heading into the second leg of their quarter-final against PSG, but a first half goal from Kaddidiatou Diani and a calamitous own goal from keeper Ann-Katrin Berger helped the French side level the tie. 

It was the French side who looked the more likely to steal a winner, but Maren Mjelde proved to be an unlikely hero for Emma Hayes’ side –– scoring a dramatic injury-time goal to send the Blues into the semi-finals.

1 of 20

Which club has won the most UEFA Champions League titles?

News Now - Sport News