Germany 1-1 England: Why wasn't Harry Kane's penalty ruled out for offside?

Journalist explains why Harry Kane's late penalty in Germany 1-1 England wasn't ruled out for offside

England clinched a dramatic late draw in their UEFA Nations League match against Germany on Tuesday evening.

The Three Lions were looking to get points on the board after losing against Hungary in their opening game of the tournament last weekend.

England fell 1-0 down five minutes after half-time in Munich when Jonas Hoffman found the back of the net.

But Gareth Southgate’s side battled back and won a late penalty.

Harry Kane was tripped inside the box by Nico Schlotterbeck and, after consultation with the pitch-side monitor, the referee pointed to the penalty spot.

Kane then sent Manuel Neuer the wrong way to score his 50th England goal and earn his side a point.

Many thought that the penalty should not have been given, irrespective of whether Kane was fouled or not.

The England striker was actually standing in an offside position when the ball was played.

But Dale Johnson of ESPN has explained why the penalty was given.

“Harry Kane was in an offside position when the first pass was played, but the ball was then deliberately played by a Germany defender.

“Thus there can be no offside against Kane as the phase is reset.”

Some mentioned the incident in the Champions League final when Karim Benzema’s goal was ruled out. The Frenchman was standing in an offside position when the ball made its way to him after a deflection off Fabinho.

Johnson sent another tweet explaining why it was different.

England are off the mark in League A Group C but remain bottom of the group.

Germany are one point better off in third.

Italy are currently leading the way after beating Hungary 2-1 at the Stadio Dino Manuzzi.

Southgate’s side will look to move off the bottom of the table when they take on Italy at Molineux Stadium on Saturday.

News Now - Sport News