NFL: Ranking every team's helmet from 'Crowning Glory' to 'Disastrous Design'

In the latest edition of our NFL ranking list and following on from uniforms and logos, we have turned our attention to team’s helmets.

Helmets, like a lot of other things in the NFL, have come a long way over the years from where they were in the early days of the sport. Having evolved from being made out of leather and only coming in some very boring colours, today they have taken on a life of their own.

Much like team’s jerseys and logos, they give teams a little bit of personality and can with some teams be seen as equally as important as the rest of their uniform when it comes to setting them apart from the rest.

The Cleveland Browns for instance have used their helmet as their primary logo for a large part of their history, and the Dallas Cowboy’s use of the star on the side of their helmet sets such a striking image that you know instantly what team it is even if it doesn’t say the word ‘Cowboys’.

This year is something of an important one for helmets around the league, as the NFL has scrapped the rule limiting players to one helmet per season, which was designed for safety purposes to stop players having to switch for one-off games.

However with that rule now dropped, teams can now incorporate a second design into their alternate uniforms, something that some teams have jumped at the opportunity to use:

1 of 15

Can you remember who won these Super Bowls? Starting with the most recent one... LVI

So with helmets being in the news so much, and using, we have broken the helmets into four tiers, just the regular helmets though:

Crowning glory:

The helmets that are the best in the league and don’t need anything to improve them, just a work of art


Incredibly good designs, just not good enough to go along with the ones in the top tier

Just a bit boring:

They just don’t pop out like the ones above them and leave a lot to be desired

Disastrous design:

Self-explanatory, they need to go back and work on these from scratch

Crowning glory: Los Angeles Rams, Las Vegas Raiders, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Green Bay Packers

Sleak: Dallas Cowboys, Atlanta Falcons, Baltimore Ravens, San Francisco 49ers, Jacksonville Jaguars, Kansas City Chiefs, Pittsburgh Steelers, New York Jets, Miami Dolphins, Detroit Lions, New Orleans Saints, Seattle Seahawks

Just a bit boring: Arizona Cardinals, Buffalo Bills, Minnesota Vikings, New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles, Indianapolis Colts, Denver Broncos, Carolina Panthers, Chicago Bears, Tennessee Titans, New England Patriots

Disastrous design: Cleveland Browns, Washington Commanders, Los Angeles Chargers, Cincinnati Bengals, Hoston Texans

Note, the images we were given gave us the Commanders’ helmet for 2021, not 2022, but we still would have put it in the bottom tier anyway.

News Now - Sport News