FIFA 23: Confirmed women's club teams so far

Sam Kerr and Chloe Kelly

EA Sports recently announced women’s club teams would be a new feature on FIFA 23.

Currently, gamers will be able to choose between teams from the Women’s Super League in England and the Division 1 Féminine in France.

This announcement has been made just days after Sam Kerr was unveiled as the cover star for the game, alongside PSG star Kylian Mbappe.

It is the first time a women’s football player has appeared on a global FIFA cover, although Steph Catley and Alex Morgan featured on the respective covers of the Australian and US editions in 2016.

The latest updates from EA Sports are a sign of the publisher’s efforts to increase female representation in their flagship football video game.

Women’s football fans are understandably delighted with the news, and will be eagerly awaiting the launch of FIFA 23.

With anticipation mounting, GiveMeSport Women runs through which women’s teams have been confirmed so far.

Chloe Kelly FIFA 23
Chloe Kelly FIFA 23

Women’s Super League teams on FIFA 23

This will give gamers the ability to play as stars such as Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema, Chelsea’s Sam Kerr, Manchester City’s Lauren Hemp and Manchester United’s Ella Toone.

Sam Kerr and Kylian Mbappe
Sam Kerr and Kylian Mbappe

Division 1 Féminine teams on FIFA 23

The Division 1 Féminine features stars such as Lyon’s Ada Hegerberg, Paris Saint-Germain’s Marie-Antoinette Katoto, and Paris FC’s Ouleymata Sarr.

Have there been women’s teams on FIFA before?

Women’s teams have featured in the popular franchise since FIFA 16, but only international sides up until this point.

Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, England, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Spain, Sweden, and the United States were the 12 teams initially added to the game.

This has since been expanded to include Belgium, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal and Scotland.

The 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand will be another feature added to FIFA 23, suggesting more international teams such as Japan, South Korea, Denmark, Jamaica and South Africa.

1 of 15
Women's Euro trophy

When was the UEFA Women’s Euro founded?

News Now - Sport News