Birmingham down Owls to stay top

Published Add your comment

Football News

Birmingham remain at the top of the Coca-Cola Championship after a 3-1 win over Sheffield Wednesday.

Blues went ahead following a Garry O'Connor header from a Sebastian Larsson free-kick after 11 minutes.

Wednesday levelled within three minutes through Etienne Esajas but O'Connor's second of the game and a Kevin Phillips strike wrapped up all three points. Wednesday's Jimmy Smith was also sent off for violent conduct.

Wolves remain in second after an eventful 3-2 win at Watford. Chris Iwelumo, David Jones and Michael Gray all weighed in with goals for the Black County side, while Grzegorz Rasiak and John-Joe O'Toole twice pulled the home side level.

Bristol City failed to close the gap after a 0-0 draw with lowly Barnsley. The Tykes moved out of the drop zone, leapfrogging Southampton in the process.

Cardiff managed a 1-0 win at Nottingham Forest. Ross McCormack scored with the spot-kick to leave the hosts rooted to the bottom of the table.

Sheffield United moved into fifth thanks to a 1-0 win over Preston at Bramall Lane.

James Beattie came close early on but it was Ugo Ehiogu who scored the only goal of the game shortly after half-time when he stabbed home from five yards following a scramble in the area.

Meanwhile, Burnley were held to a 1-1 draw by struggling Charlton at The Valley, Plymouth went down to an emphatic 3-1 home defeat by Ipswich with Owen Garvan scoring twice and Swansea claimed a 3-0 home win over Southampton.

Elsewhere, Norwich claimed a last-minute win over lowly Doncaster - 2-1, Coventry also scored a last-minute goal to claim a 1-1 draw with Derby and Blackpool shared the spoils with Crystal Palace in a 2-2 draw at Bloomfield Road.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2008, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Norwich City
Doncaster Rovers
Ipswich Town
Sheffield Wednesday
Etienne Esajas
Bristol City
Ross McCormack
Grzegorz Rasiak
Chris Iwelumo
David Jones
Cardiff City
Preston North End
Derby County
Nottingham Forest
Owen Garvan
John-Joe O'Toole
James Beattie
Sheffield United
Garry O'Connor
Crystal Palace
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Coventry City
Plymouth Argyle
Charlton Athletic
Kevin Phillips
Swansea City
Sebastian Larsson
Michael Gray
Ugo Ehiogu
Jimmy Smith

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again