The shortlist for 1998 Ballon d'Or was incredibly good

Published Add your comment

Football News

The 30-man shortlist for the 2016 Ballon d’Or was released by France Football on Monday.

The list features the biggest names in European football, from unlikely hero Jamie Vardy to five-time winner Lionel Messi.

The winner will be announced in January. Some are ready to anoint Cristiano Ronaldo the winner after he won the Champions League and European Championship, but Messi will certainly run him close.

Quite remarkably, the duo have shared the award for the past eight years. There’s literally been no point in anyone else showing up.

Yet before Messi and Ronaldo emerged on the scene, the Ballon d’Or was up for grabs every year. Between 1989 and 2007, Brazilian Ronaldo and Marco van Basten were the only players to win the award multiple times.

The Ballon d’Or might be bigger today than it was 20 years ago, but it was certainly more intriguing when you didn’t have a clue who the winner would be.

1998 nominees

Voters will certainly have had a difficult time choosing the winner in 1998. The shortlist 18 years ago was filled with some ridiculously talented players.

Zinedine Zidane ended up winning the prize after he scored two goals in the World Cup final against Brazil. Check out the 30 players he beat to the award.

The number of points represents how many points each player received in the voting.

Zinedine Zidane | Juventus | 244

Davor Suker | Real Madrid 68

Ronaldo | Internazionale | 66

Michael Owen | Liverpool | 51

Rivaldo | Barcelona | 45

Gabriel Batistuta | Fiorentina | 43

Lilian Thuram | Parma | 36

Edgar Davids | Juventus | 28

Dennis Bergkamp | Arsenal | 28

Marcel Desailly | Chelsea | 19

Frank de Boer | Ajax | 17

Emmanuel Petit | Arsenal | 16

Roberto Carlos | Real Madrid | 13

Laurent Blanc | Marseille | 11

Fabien Barthez | Monaco | 11

Alessandro Del Piero | Juventus | 10

Predrag Mijatovic | Real Madrid | 10

Didier Deschamps | Juventus | 9

Oliver Bierhoff | AC Milan | 9

Michael Laudrup | Ajax | 6

Ronald de Boer | Ajax | 4

Raul | Real Madrid | 4

Brain Laudrup | Chelsea | 3

Clarence Seedorf | Real Madrid | 3

Marc Overmars | Arsenal | 3

Christian Vieri | Lazio | 2

Fernando Hierro | Real Madrid | 2

David Beckham | Manchester United | 1

Luis Enrique | Barcelona | 1

Bixente Lizarazu | Bayern Munich | 1

Nikos Machlas | Vitesse | 1

And that is just the list of players who received votes. Roberto Baggio, Fabio Cannavaro, Pavel Nedved and Andriy Shevchenko were all nominated but didn’t receive any backing.

Who will win the 2016 Ballon d'Or? Let us know in the comments section below!

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Zinedine Zidane
Real Madrid
Premier League
Cristiano Ronaldo
Lionel Messi
Ballon d'Or
Manchester United

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again