Real Madrid don’t exactly require extra help to beat the majority of teams in La Liga - but referee Jose Sanchez was clearly feeling generous this afternoon.
Los Blancos won 4-1 to stay top of the table in Spain, with Cristiano Ronaldo scoring a hat-trick and Alvaro Morata keeping up his impressive recent run of goalscoring form.
But Madrid should never have been awarded their first penalty of the match, in the 15th minute of the match, when Gareth Bale struck a free-kick into the Alaves wall.
Deyverson, in fairness to Sanchez, gave the referee a decision to make by putting his arm up to protect himself.
But replays showed the ball didn’t actually make contact with the Brazilian forward; it hit him in the head. (Scroll down to watch the video).
Video: Real Madrid awarded unfair penalty?
How about this angle?
Eventful first half
It was an eventful first half for Deyverson, who opened the scoring against Zinedine Zidane's side in the sixth minute.
But it was Ronaldo who undoubtedly scored the goal of the game.
Was it a penalty or not? Have your say by leaving a comment below.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms