BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2016: Shortlist announced

Published Add your comment

Football News

Andy Murray leads the names in this year's BBC Sport's Personality of the Year Award shortlist which is unsurprisingly dominated by Britain's Olympic and Paralympic stars of Rio.

Despite becoming the most decorated British athlete in Olympic history at the Rio games there was no place on the 16-strong shortlist for Sir Bradley Wiggins or for triple Tour de France winner Chris Froome.

Murray is a strong favourite to win the award, after rounding off what has been an exceptional season by clinching the tennis world number one spot from Novak Djokovic for the first time in his career.  However, the 31-year-old will yet again miss the ceremony on December 18 in Birmingham as he prepares for the Australian Open.

This year the BBC have increased the SPOTY shortlist from 12 to 16 names, meaning that there will be a record number of gold medallists present at the awards ceremony including Mo Farah, triathlete Alistair Brownlee, married cyclists Jason and Laura Kenny and female boxer Nicola Adams.

The other gold medallists to make up the list are Team GB hockey captain Kate Richardson-Walsh, gymnast Max Whitlock, swimmer Adam Peaty and 58-year-old showjumper Nick Skelton.

There are also several Paralympians who made the shortlist with Kadeena Cox, who won gold in both cycling and athletics, cyclist Dame Sarah Storey and equestrian rider Sophie Christiansen all potential recipients of this year's award.

Out of the 16 names only three to make the shortlist were not gold or medallists at the Olympic and Paralympic games with Leicester striker Jamie Vardy, Real Madrid and Wales superstar Gareth Bale and Masters winner Danny Willett completing the shortlist.

Notable omissions

Despite the BBC opting to increase the shortlist from 12 to 16 for this year's awards after an incredible year for British sports several big names still missed out such as Froome, who won his third Tour de France this summer and Wiggins, whose success in Rio has been somewhat overshadowed after it was leaked that he had used a therapeutic use exemption for a banned steroid before the 2011 and 2012 Tour de France and the 2013 Giro D'Italia.

Other noteworthy names to be omitted from the shortlist include heavyweight boxer Anthony Joshua, who won the IBF title in January and cricketer Alistair Cook, who became the first batsman for England to pass 10,000 runs in the summer.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Novak Djokovic
Roger Federer
Team GB
Andy Murray

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport - Tennis Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again