Quinton Fortune: One player can reach the level of Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar

FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala 2015

So, we now know the final three players that will contest the 2016 Ballon d’Or - Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann.

For the previous nine years, the final three has - almost always - consisted of Messi, Ronaldo and one other, with Kaka being the last player other than these two superstars to win the accolade back in 2007.

This year it’s Griezmann - but the debate for the third best player in the world behind Messi and Ronaldo rumbles on.

Some say Griezmann is deserving of his place, but many suggest that Neymar or Luis Suarez should be standing on that Ballon d’Or podium.

For former Manchester United player Quinton Fortune, it’s Neymar who is closer to Messi and Ronaldo than anyone else.

Fortune on the best three players in the world

When asked who the best three players in the world are right now, Fortune told NDTV: “Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar.

“Those three are on another level.”

FIFA Ballon d'Or 2015 Shortlist

Fortune on Pogba

However, there’s one player that was on the 30-man Ballon d’Or list that Fortune believes can reach the level of Messi, Ronaldo and Neymar in the future.

“It’s great to see Paul Pogba on the shortlist and I’m sure one day he will be at that level too,” he insisted.

Manchester United v West Ham United - Premier League

Pogba, at the age of 23, already has four Serie A titles to his name and established himself as one of the best young midfielders in Europe whilst at Juventus.

However, since making his return to Manchester United for a world-record £89 million, Pogba hasn’t exactly set the Premier League alight this season.

But, as far as Fortune is concerned, he has all the skills and potential to become one of the best players in the world and will soon be on that Ballon d’Or podium.

For now, Pogba will just hope to be a part of as many title-winning squads at Old Trafford than Fortune was. Although the South African only received one Premier League winner’s medal after the 2002/03 campaign, he helped his side win the league in 2000 and 2001 - although he didn’t play enough matches to earn himself a medal.

Quinton Fortune of Manchester United celebrates after scoring News Now - Sport News