Alejandro Camargo scores brilliant volley from his own half in Chilean Primera Division

Published Add your comment

Football News

FIFA may have already announced the final three nominees for the 2016 Puskas award but we think we might have already spotted next year's winner.

And we'll forgive you if it escaped your radar last weekend as it actually came during a Chilean Primera Division clash between Universidad de Concepcion FC and O'Higgins.

The home side were defending a 2-1 lead in the dying minutes of the game when Argentine midfielder Alejandro Camargo sealed the victory with virtually the last kick of the game in quite stunning fashion.

O'Higgins goalkeeper, Miguel Angel Pinto had the ball deep in his own half and attempted to launch the ball forward in a last-ditch attempt to salvage a draw.

But almost as soon as he hit it, it became obvious Pinto hadn't got enough height or distance and he immediately had to race back towards his goal.

It didn't matter, though.

As you can see in the video below, Camargo, who was positioned just outside the centre circle, didn't even let the ball bounce once before he fiercely struck it with his right foot.

By the time the ball next touched the ground it was already in the O'Higgins goal.

A really quite incredible finish we think you'll agree!

Unfortunately, it will not be in contention for the 2016 Puskas award as only goals scored between September 30, 2015 and September 30, 2016, are considered.

Lionel Messi, Neymar and even Hal Robson-Kanu were all named among the initial 10 potential winners of the prestigious accolade awarded to the player who has scored the best goal from the last 12 months.

However, that shortlist has already been whittled down to just three and the efforts from the lesser known Marlone, Daniuska Rodríguez and Mohd Faiz Subri are now the only goals left to vote for.

The fact strikes from players with smaller reputations have made this year's final three certainly bodes well for Camargo.

And it is going to take something pretty special to take the 2017 award away from the Argentine now.

Edinson Cavani
Alexis Sanchez
Luis Suarez
Lionel Messi

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again