Darlo stay top

Published Add your comment

Football News

Ten-man Darlington stayed top of Coca-Cola League Two thanks to a 2-0 win at home to Lincoln.

Stephen Foster was shown a straight red for a foul on Adrian Patulea inside the opening 15 minutes, but Liam Hatch and Richie Foran scored in the second half.

Wycombe remain second on goal difference after Lewis Hunt hit a 70th-minute winner at home to Bradford.

At the other end of the table, 10-man Grimsby claimed their first league win of the season against Bury thanks to first-half goals from Liam Trotter and Nathan Jarman. The Mariners had Jean-Paul Kalala dismissed for two bookable offences in the first half.

Fourth-placed Rochdale are one of six teams on 27 points after a 1-1 home draw against Macclesfield. Adam Rundle opened the scoring for the hosts but Nat Brown rescued a point for Macclesfield late on.

Brentford secured a 3-0 win at Port Vale, who had Ross Davidson dismissed for violent conduct with the match goalless. Karleigh Osborne, Marcus Bean and Charlie MacDonald were on target for the Bees.

Gillingham kept themselves firmly in the play-off picture with a 4-0 home win against 10-man Rotherham. Simon King handed the Gills a sixth-minute lead before Danny Harrison saw red for a poor tackle on Barry Fuller after 35 minutes. Strikes by Adam Miller, Garry Richards and Luis Cumbers completed a comprehensive win in the second half.

Rock-bottom Luton picked up a morale-boosting 2-1 win at home to Dagenham while Bournemouth's woes continued as they slipped to 3-0 loss to Accrington with Paul Mullin, Terry Gornell and Rostyn Griffiths all scoring for the hosts.

Notts County were 4-0 winners at Barnet, on-loan striker Jonathan Forte grabbing a debut hat-trick after Richard Butcher volleyed County into the lead.

Aldershot were 1-0 winners at home to 10-man Exeter thanks to John Grant's second-half winner while Rene Howe's penalty ensured a 2-1 victory for Morecambe against Chester as both teams finished with 10 men.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2008, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Adam Rundle
Stephen Foster
Luis Cumbers
Adam Miller
Danny Harrison
Marcus Bean
Paul Mullin
Liam Hatch
Lewis Hunt
Rostyn Griffiths
Port Vale
Bradford City
Richard Butcher
Jean-Paul Kalala
John Grant
Rene Howe
Rene Howe
Karleigh Osborne
League Two
Terry Gornell
Richie Foran
Ross Davidson
Barry Fuller
Charlie MacDonald
Garry Richards
Liam Trotter
Simon King
Jonathan Forte
Nat Brown
Stephen Foster
Notts County
Nathan Jarman

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again