Wolves stay clear in Championship

Published Add your comment

Football News

Chris Iwelumo made it 15 goals for the season as Wolves kept their six-point lead intact at the top of the Coca-Cola Championship.

Iwelumo scored twice as Wolves beat Sheffield United 3-1, giving the leaders an early advantage with a fine finish from a tight angle following a Michael Kightly cross.

The visitors lost goalkeeper Carl Ikeme to injury before the break, Wayne Hennessey taking over before Iwelumo stretched the lead in the second half.

Sylvain Ebanks-Blake put Wolves further ahead after 63 minutes before Matthew Spring scored a consolation goal for United with 15 minutes left.

A rare goal from Liam Ridgewell and a Kevin Phillips header kept up the pressure on Wolves as second-placed Birmingham beat Ipswich 2-1 at St Andrews.

Ridgewell volleyed in from close range before Phillips doubled the advantage as he headed in a cross from Sebastian Larsson. Former Birmingham player Alex Bruce scored with six minutes remaining to ensure a nervy finish for the home side.

Third-placed Reading lost more ground on the leading duo as they were held 2-2 at Cardiff.

Reading, who lost to Southampton at the weekend, also ended the game with 10 men following the dismissal of Andre Bikey. Michael Chopra was in the thick of the first-half action, first being fouled by Bikey which earned the Reading defender a red card, before being brought down by goalkeeper Marcus Hahnemann for the penalty which restored Cardiff's lead.

On-loan Wayne Routledge had put the home side ahead before Kevin Doyle levelled for Reading.

Bikey was then sent off for his foul on Chopra before Hahnemann brought down the same player and Ross McCormack converted the penalty. Brynjar Gunnarsson equalised five minutes into the second half but Reading could not find a winner.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2008, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Ipswich Town
Wayne Routledge
Andre Amougou
Carl Ikeme
Marcus Hahnemann
Ross McCormack
Liam Ridgewell
Sylvain Ebanks-Blake
Brynjar Gunnarsson
Chris Iwelumo
Alex Bruce
Cardiff City
Kevin Doyle
Michael Chopra
Wayne Hennessey
Matthew Spring
Sheffield United
Michael Kightly
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Kevin Phillips
Sebastian Larsson

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again