Ronaldo favourite for Ballon d'Or

Published Add your comment

Football News

Manchester United star Cristiano Ronaldo is set to win the prestigious Ballon d'Or overnight.

The Portugal winger is clear favourite to claim the award, formerly given to the European footballer of the year but now expanded to include players from all over the world, after an outstanding year with the Old Trafford club.

Ronaldo scored 42 goals last season to propel United to glory in both the Barclays Premier League and Champions League.

His summer efforts at Euro 2008 were overshadowed by a long-running transfer tussle involving Real Madrid but his achievements continue to be recognised.

The 23-year-old is already FIFPro World Player of the Year and also took the top prizes from the Professional Footballers Association and the Football Writers last season.

Ronaldo is set to become the first United player to win the Ballon d'Or since George Best in 1968.

He finished runner-up to AC Milan's Brazilian ace Kaka last year in the annual poll of journalists organised by the magazine France Football, who plan to announce this year's winner on their website at 0200 Tuesday morning.

This year, his closest rival is thought to be Barcelona's Lionel Messi but the Argentinian has already endorsed Ronaldo's claim. Both were on a shortlist of 30 players announced by France Football in October which also included a number of other Premier League players.

Ronaldo's United team-mates Wayne Rooney, Edwin van der Sar and Nemanja Vidic all featured, as did Chelsea's Michael Ballack, Didier Drogba and Frank Lampard. Emmanuel Adebayor and Cesc Fabregas, along with Liverpool pair Fernando Torres and Steven Gerrard.

The award was last won by a Premier League player in 2001 when Michael Owen, then of Liverpool, took the prize.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2008, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Emmanuel Adebayor
Didier Drogba
European News
Edwin Van der Sar
Michael Owen
Fernando Torres
Manchester United
Cristiano Ronaldo
Nemanja Vidic
Wayne Rooney
Steven Gerrard
Michael Ballack
George Best

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again