Grayson earns first win

Published Add your comment

Football News

Leeds claimed their first three points under new boss Simon Grayson with a 3-1 victory at fellow League One play-off contenders Stockport.

The West Yorkshire side fell behind after just three minutes, Johnny Mullins grabbing the goal. But Luciano Becchio (19), Fabian Delph (73) and Malcolm Christie (86) gave Leeds a deserved victory.

Meanwhile, Scunthorpe suffered a 2-0 defeat at Huddersfield. Jim Goodwin (65) and an injury-time goal from Gary Roberts gave the Terriers the victory which keeps their play-off hopes alive.

A Steven Gillespie penalty after 39 minutes gave Colchester a 1-0 win over visitors Leyton Orient, who remain in the relegation zone. Orient could have salvaged a point but Adam Boyd saw his second-half penalty saved.

It was a bad-tempered match at the Colchester Community Stadium which saw nine yellow cards and a sending off for Sean Thornton for a second bookable offence.

The shock of the day in League One came at Hartlepool, who were soundly beaten 4-1 by basement club Crewe. John Brayford put the visitors ahead just after the break before Joel Porter (48) equalised.

An own goal by Michael Nelson in the 57th minute restored the visitors' lead and further goals from Luke Murphy and Shaun Miller gave them a comfortable victory.

Brighton moved out of the relegation zone thanks to a Nicky Forster double at Danny Wilson's Swindon. The veteran striker got his first after 43 minutes and he doubled his side's advantage with a penalty after 52 minutes following Michael Timlin's foul on Stuart Fleetwood.

An injury-time goal from Antony Kay gave Tranmere victory against Walsall. Ian Goodison gave the home side the lead in the 43 minutes, before Marco Reich's penalty gave the visitors what looked to be a share of the points. But Kay slotted home Ian Moore's cross in the dying seconds for a remarkable victory.

Northampton and Bristol Rovers fought out a goalless draw, as did Oldham and Carlisle.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2008, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Ian Thomas-Moore
Colchester United
Crewe Alexandra
Gary Roberts
Bristol Rovers
Michael Nelson
Luke Murphy
Antony Kay
Ian Goodison
Shaun Miller
Scunthorpe United
Sean Thornton
League One
Michael Timlin
Huddersfield Town
John Brayford
Swindon Town
Fabian Delph
Nicky Forster
Steven Gillespie
Jim Goodwin
Joel Porter
Stuart Fleetwood
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
Gary Roberts
Adam Boyd
Leeds United
Luciano Becchio
Tranmere Rovers
Leyton Orient
Marco Reich
Brighton & Hove Albion
Johnny Mullins

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again