Foxes extend advantage at the top

Published Add your comment

Football News

League One leaders Leicester twice came from behind to beat Huddersfield 4-2 at the Walkers Stadium and move nine points clear at the summit.

Phil Jevons opened the scoring after just five minutes for the Terriers, and although Michael Morrison equalised, the visitors led again through Keigan Parker's 51st-minute effort.

But Bruno Berner levelled once more before Matty Fryatt and Jack Hobbs put Leicester in front. A disappointing end to the game for Huddersfield was capped by the 88th-minute dismissal of Gary Roberts.

Oldham are up to third after seeing off Stockport 3-1 in the north-west derby while Jermaine Beckford came off the bench to score the winner for Leeds as they boosted their play-off push with a 3-1 victory over fourth-placed Peterborough.

Goals from Paul Hayes and Garry Thompson fired Scunthorpe to a 2-1 win over Leyton Orient and fifth place. Dean Morgan got the goal for the visitors.

Rock-bottom Crewe were on the wrong end of a 5-1 thrashing as Northampton recorded their first win in five games in style.

Adam Hinshelwood's last-minute equaliser saw Brighton battle back from 2-0 down to earn a point at Cheltenham.

Ian Moore scored a brace either side of strikes from Gareth Edds and Steven Jennings as Tranmere thrashed Carlisle 4-1. Danny Graham got on the scoresheet for the visitors.

Steve Guinan's penalty cancelled out Troy Deeney's opener as Walsall and Hereford drew 1-1, while Aaron Brown's sixth-minute strike was enough to give Yeovil three points from their trip to Southend.

Bristol Rovers and Colchester shared the points from a goalless draw.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Peterborough United
Yeovil Town
Ian Thomas-Moore
Leicester City
Colchester United
Crewe Alexandra
Gary Roberts
Bristol Rovers
Paul Hayes
Troy Deeney
Aaron Brown
Phil Jevons
Scunthorpe United
League One
Garry Thompson
Steve Guinan
Huddersfield Town
Hereford United
Southend United
Cheltenham Town
Danny Graham
Dean Morgan
Keigan Parker
Bruno Berner
Aaron Brown
Matty Fryatt
Steven Jennings
Dean Morgan
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
Gary Roberts
Jermaine Beckford
Adam Hinshelwood
Michael Morrison
Aaron Brown
Jack Hobbs
Leeds United
Tranmere Rovers
Gareth Edds
Leyton Orient
Brighton & Hove Albion

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again