Leicester cruise to solid win

Published Add your comment

Football News

Leaders Leicester continued their domination of Coca-Cola League One with a 4-1 win at Walsall.

Matt Fryatt converted the opener with 12 minutes on the clock after Joe Mattock headed a corner back across goal, before Andy King added a 34th-minute second and turned provider two minutes after the break by setting up Tom Cleverley.

Steve Howard got on the scoresheet five minutes later before Dwayne Mattis pulled one back for the Saddlers after 64 minutes.

Milton Keynes Dons remained 10 points behind Leicester with a 1-0 win at Stockport. The goal came after 36 minutes when Jason Puncheon played in Aaron Wilbraham, who finished when one-on-one with Stockport keeper Owain Fon Williams.

Hartlepool claimed a 1-1 draw at Huddersfield despite playing most of the second half with 10 men.

Michael Nelson diverted a cross from the right into his own net after nine minutes. Ritchie Jones equalised against the run of play after 37 minutes with his first goal for the club.

Hartlepool's on-loan striker Daniel Nardiello was dismissed for a bad tackle on Arran Lee-Barrett in the 51st minute.

In League Two, second-placed Brentford missed the chance to make up ground on leaders Wycombe as they went down 2-0 at Morecambe. Michael Twiss scored after 23 minutes when through one-on-one with Ben Hamer and Rene Howe made it two a minute from time.

Rochdale climbed to fourth with a 2-0 win at Chester. Lee McEvilly set up Joe Thompson to break the deadline 10 minutes after the break and McEvilly himself doubled the lead after 65 minutes.

Shrewsbury claimed a 2-0 win over Accrington Stanley to put themselves into the play-off places. Graham Coughlan headed home Steven Leslie's corner after 20 minutes and Grant Holt added a second from the penalty spot five minutes before the break.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Arran Lee-Barrett
Leicester City
Ritchie Jones
Graham Coughlan
Shrewsbury Town
Matt Fryatt
Milton Keynes Dons
Daniel Nardiello
Michael Nelson
Aaron Wilbraham
League One
Owain fon Williams
Huddersfield Town
Ben Hamer
Michael Twiss
Andy King
Steve Howard
Joe Thompson
Steven Leslie
Lee McEvilly
Rene Howe
Rene Howe
League Two
Grant Holt
Dwayne Mattis
Accrington Stanley
Jason Puncheon
Joe Mattock

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again